History of Spencerville by Dr. Willis W. Carey, Published 1952. Reprinted with permission from John Martin Smith, County Historian of DeKalb County
Submitted by: Arlene Goodwin , Auburn, Indiana, email@example.com
FOREWARD---Just a word about the writing of this history. As early as 1913 it was talked about but got no farther than wishful thinking until about 3 years ago when vitamins became popular, it too took on new life and began to materialize. We were considerably handicapped because so much of our history data was destroyed in the burning of the court house and most of its contents in 1913. Nevertheless those interested went to work and it was only through them that it was made possible. The commissioners made available their records, private parties dug up their deeds, abstracts for dates, newspaper clippings, genealogies, private letters, copies of the old local news as published by our merchants of that date, copies of the St. Joe News, access to the Fort Wayne News of the thirties and forties, and stories of events as handed down by our forebearers, all united to make the history instructive and entertaining for which we are grateful and thank you all for your history.
DR. WILLIS W. CAREY.
HISTORY OF SPENCERVILLE
Spencerville was first known as a river settlement on the big bend of the St. Joe. Its first settler, Thomas Lovel Yates, came up the river from Fort Wayne, selected his land and filed his claim at the U. S. land office in Fort Wayne September 13, 1833. Before the county was surveyed, land claims were identified by leaving marks on trees, piles of stone, or mention of other natural phenomena such as waterfalls, rivers, lakes, outstanding trees, and by creating huge brush piles, log heaps, etc. Land was plentiful and no border disputes recorded at this time. After the organization of the county in 1836-37, the descriptions became more accurate. John Houghton was the first settler in the county and filed his claim on Fish Creek in the northeast corner of the county, on September 3, 1833; Thomas L. Yates in the southeast corner on September 13, 1833. John Houghton had been working for his brother Samuel Houghton, who had built a mill on Fish Creek, east of the state line, in Williams County, Ohio in 1827. Some people are confused by the two Houghton brothers, Sam on Fish Creek in Williams County, Ohio and John Houghton on Fish Creek in DeKalb County, Indiana. In a letter to Samuel Widney, John Houghton says he had no neighbors within ten miles. The first settlers coming in to this section came from Fort Wayne and up the St. Joe River. Soon the news of the fertility of the land and valuable forests led the more adventurous to brave the black swamps and dense forest of Ohio and where the Indiana trail was, soon appeared roads, fords gave way to bridges and the settlers came in on foot, horse back, and covered wagons. Thomas Lovel Yates, the first settler, came from Ohio by the way of Fort Wayne and settled on the river bank in what is now Spencerville, registering his claim in the U. S. land office at Fort Wayne on September 13, 1833. The second family to come in was David Butler, who married a sister of T. L. Yates and filed his claim October 12, 1833. His grandson now owns and lives on the farm which has never been out of the Butler family. Others follow: John Dawson, November 11, 1833; Isaac Patterson, November 22, 1833; John Mathews, November 20, 1833; Hector Blake, December 24, 1833; and Samuel Wasson, a bachelor. By the end of 1833, we had six families in and within a half mile of the town. In 1834, we had Peter Sunderland, February 10, 1834, and Daniel Rhodes, September 2, 1834, and another bachelor, Nelson Ulm. In 1835 we have John Crippen, January 5, 1835; Joseph L. Cabbott, January 5; Jabes Wright, May 30; Samuel Miller, June 6; Nehimah Clark, July 10; John Spencer, September 1; John Latta, November 7; Daniel Brandt, November 7; John F. Rhodes, November 14, and John Rhodes, December 2, 1835. In 1836 we had Joseph Cabbott, and Henry Elsworth, April 6, 1836; Levi Lockwood, July 14, 1836; Wm. DePew and Joseph DePew, both Dec. 5, 1836. This accounts for all lands lying in the 4 sections and in which Spencerville lies. Previous to the organization of the county in 1837-’38 the township in the southeast corner of DeKalb County was first called DeKalb and included Stafford and Newville townships. In 1838 they detached Stafford and Newville and called the township Concord. In 1909 it was again divided, the upper half retained the name Concord and the south half called Spencer Township. To many of us it would be interesting to know who lived on these various entries. The Thomas L. Yates farm sold to Ruben J. Dawson in 1836 is now a part of the town. David Butler, just south of the Dawson farm; Merritt Butler, Isaac Patterson known as the Dove farm, east of the bridge, now owned by Claud Laub. John Davis on place across the river known as the Murrey farm and so far as is known no one ever lived on it. John Mathew, south of town, now owned by Fred Steward. Hector Blake, south of Butler’s known as the Carnes farm, now owned by Roscoe Garmen. The farm in the big bend and entered by John Dawson now owned by Winnie Shook and Aubrey Wade. In a news item appearing in The Fort Wayne News, 1833, John Dawson speaks of his land and he found two families living on it. These were a Mr. Brandt and Cramel Rood. These people were known to be there up to 1837, but their names do not occur in any tax list or as witnesses to deeds or wills of an early day. This class was called "squatters." Daniel Rhodes, north of town, now owned by Mervin Rhodes, a grandson; Peter Sunderland place south of town, now owned by Charles Furnish, know as the Sam Bair place; Jeremiah Rhodes came in 1835 and settled in the northern part of Concord Township. Henry E. Ellsworth place, known as the Coder farm, now owned by Sol Goldsmith. Joseph and William De Pew now known as the S. S. Shutt farm and owned by various parties. The Levi Lockwood place, known as the Dilley farm, now owned by Roy Harper. Samuel Wasson place now owned in part by his grandson, Bert Wasson. The Joseph Cabbot place across from the grist mill now owned by Mrs. DeLoss White. Jabes Wright now owned by Chaney Bros. The Samuel Miller known as the William Henderson farm. I believe this accounts for all the land lying in the sections in which Spencerville is now located. In naming these various settlers and their location I consider them as much a part of the town as the ones who live within the original plot. The old town the hub and none more than ¾ of a mile from center. They were not only dependent, one on another their children attended the same school, the same churches, traded in the same stores, received their mail and had a part in the social and financial development of the town. The following data has been obtained from government deeds issued by the United States. I am enclosing plats of sections No. 28-29-32 and 33, which were traced from the aerial map record in the AAA office and are remarkably accurate to the scale of 1 inch to 40 rods. On these plats I have shown the various tracts as originally entered in the land office for the district at Fort Wayne giving the acreage of each tract, the name under which it was entered and the date of entry. Abstracts, old deeds, personal letters, commissioners’ records, biographies and many from items from the Fort Wayne News as published by John Dawson. By this time the county was organized, 1837-38. Not much accomplished in 1837, but a few appointive officers among them Thomas L. Yates, probate judge. By 1838 more delegates attended and commissioners appointed men to provide revenue to support the county and pay state taxes. Three men from various sections were appointed to appraise land for tax assessment. A state tax for $1.35 on each hundred dollar valuation of land; 85c going to the county and 50c for roads. Poll tax. 75c and levied a tax called a license to sell good, run hotels, etc. A man operating a tavern paid $20 for license. A merchant to sell goods was required to enumerate the articles he had for sale and amount of money invested. The first license was issued to Thomas Freeman, March 7, 1838, listing domestic and foreign goods and groceries. Value invested, $175.00; tax, 85 cents. You will find this varies in amount as quoted by various writer. Joseph Peas of Spencerville, March 10, 1838, fee $5. On the same date one to Ruben J. Dawson, Joseph Sawtell Agent, fee $5.00. Dawson gave his stock value at $1000, the fee quoted $5.00. A man selling wooden clocks, $60.00; iron and composition clocks, $25.00, and limited to 12 clocks a year. A license to Exhibit a caravan, menagerie or show wax figures or a circus, $40.00 a day. A later assessment praised the farm land at 1 ½ cents per acre; poll tax, $1.00. Money was scarce as most of the settlers used all their cash to buy land. The had but little land available for cultivating and most of the trade was by barter. Timber value was low. Walnut logs 12 feet long and 2 feet through sold at $1 per 1000 feet; poplar at $1.30 and oak at $1.00. Cash for the walnut and ½ cash for the others; the rest in trade. The merchants buying furs, hides, maple sugar, roots of various plants like ginseng and snake root, pepermint and wood ashes, charcoal and bees wax. The Fort Wayne News for April, 1845, carries this ad: "A. B. Miller will buy potash and pay highest prices for ashes by the bushel and $1.00 a hundred pounds for black salts." (Black salts was the name given a product from the Asheries.) See Asheries. Another Ad: "Grocery---wanted or a right smart choice of butter and pretty considerable lot of eggs. Another for deer and bear skins. At this time the county paid $1.00 for wolf heads and 50c for small ones. At first they were allowed to retain the head. Some time later, they had to present them to their local justice of the peace who marked them and after having a few collected destroyed them. There must have been dishonest men way back. Flour sold at $14.00 a barrel; corn $1.50 to $2.00; salt, $2.25 bushel. A man worked from sunrise to sunset for 50c a day; hired men, $15.00 a month; hired girls, 75c to $1.00 a week. By this time the commissioners had gotten around to do something on roads and set aside $1200 for the Coldwater road (Auburn to Fort Wayne) and $400 for a road to run on the north and west side of the St. Joe river, and ordered several bridges built. Ruben J. Dawson surveyed the road but it was deemed impractical and new survey was made by John Blair, John Webster and Hector Blake, which one is the Grand Daddy of State Road 1. Around 1894-95, that portion between the county line and St. Joe was made a graveled pike. Those who remember the early roads when it took 4 to 5 hours to go to Fort Wayne, now 40 to 50 minutes considered slow work. In July, 1836, Ruben J. Dawson bought the Yates farm. Realizing the natural setting for water power he set aside 30 acres for mill purposes. Hiring Joseph Sawtell of Fort Wayne as his agent to oversee the building of the dam, saw mill, operate a general store and build a grist mill. The first dam was completed in the fall of 1838 and went out in the high water of ’38. By 1839 they were at it again. Mr. Sawtell profiting by his former experience, diverting the water around the dam by opening or enlarging the entrance of a creek on the Murray Bros. farm. He drove his logs or spies, deep into the ground and criss-crossed huge logs, filling the inner spaces with stone, and had a dam that stood for many years. It was so high that a man could stand under the over flow. Labor being scarce and no machines at that date it was slow work, but by 1840, the saw mill was operating. At this time no question of water rights arose, although there was a law regulating the building of dams. Perhaps Mr. Dawson thought he was secure with the high bank on the west side and he and his brother owning the east, the necessity of the mill far out weighing water rights. Up to this time, 1840, there had been no official record of the town as Spencerville. In March, 1842, Ruben J. Dawson filed his plot and recorded April 7, 1842. Just why Mr. Dawson was so dilatory in filing we don’t know. But we do know that the town was now being known as Spencerville. In the Fort Wayne News for July, 1841, says Mr. Ruben J. Dawson was moving to his estate at Spencerville, where he had large interest in a saw mill, grist mill and other real estate to better oversee his property. It was during this time that he changed agents, Mr. Sawtell being replaced by Mr. George Barney. Two years before the plat was filed at Auburn and in the Postmaster General’s official register of postoffices and postmasters, Joseph E. Sawtell was appointed postmaster for Spencerville November 14, 1839; Ruben J. Dawson, July 20, 1841. A letter written by Samuel Widney in 1838 speaks of Spencerville and in the Osborn story, of the winter of 1837-38 refers to Spencerville. This is a good time to correct some of the earlier writers who should have known, but failed to investigate, and said the town was founded by John Spencer, and named Spencerville. The record show that the plot was planned or laid out on the Dawson farm and called Spencerville by Ruben J. Dawson in honor of his brother-in-law, Col. John Spencer, at this time Collector of Monies for the U. S. land office in Fort Wayne. The plot shows 38 lots, each 60 feet wide and 150 feet deep, the lots run north and south, facing east and west streets. The first street you come to coming in from the south, running east and west is called Mill Street. All east and west streets started from the river. All lots south of the first alley, south of Mill Street were not included in the plot but were small sites sold later by Mr. Dawson to the Caflins, A. J. Dawson, Dan Oberholtzer and Soloman Bowman. The same is true of the Chaney and Leighty properties on the west. The next street running east and west I known as Pearl Street and the next one north is on the section line and called Auburn Street. The first street running north and south is Main Street. The next one east of Main, first called Front Street and later changed to Water Street. Lot No. 1 corresponds to the Mrs. Winnie Shook residence on the river bank. Lot 7 would be the Dr. Emanuel residence. Lot 32 would be the Barney store; lot 33 the old parsonage, now Frank Beam’s residence. The first addition north was plotted by Henry H. Fales, called the northern addition and recorded June 14, 1848, and consisted of 26 lots. First Street north of Auburn Street running east and west, was called Washington Street. Lot No.1, now owned by the factory, was previously occupied by Peter Bishop’s bob tailed horse. Lot No. 7, the Rhodes Hotel. The lots along the river not included in the plot. The Second Fales (northern) addition was filed October 4, 1905, and consisted of 26 lots. Lot No. 1, now owned by Beeks Erick and No. 2 the site of the new Masonic Hall. Parts of lots 5,6,7,8 Fales Addition occupied by Roy Maurer filling station and residence. As the addition was plotted before the time State Road One was put down, the lots vary in position and size. The town growing, we have another addition to the north, known as the Claud Heffner addition of 6 lots dated August 25, 1947, which lied on the north side of the road. Another addition just north of this one by W. F. and Flossie Rhodes consisted of 6 lots and dated November 18, 1948. To the west we have the Shutt and Henderson addition in 1904 or 1905. The Shutt addition on the north side both 1 row of lots deep and face Auburn road extended. The south side now begin all occupied and the north about ½ from school house to the Wabash railroad. The first business and residence of interest was around the corner and just above the dam, and by 1837 we had the dam, a saw mill in the rough, a hotel just east of the corner property, now owned by Harve Kimes. One on the church lawn owned by Jeremiah Rhodes. A store in the Joseph Peas cabin on the river bank, across from the Tom Murray residence. One on the east side of the alley run by Joseph Sawtell for R. J. Dawson. A double log cabin on the mill yard built by Samuel Wasson and Nelson Ulm. One on the river bank built by the Mathew brothers and later occupied by the Jacob Dills and Dr. Emanuel families. A cabin on Zimmerman lot, lived in by Joseph Sawtell 1837 across the street, one built by Thomas L. Yates and to the east on the river bank a small cabin lived in by Mrs. Mary Skinner Keifer. One on the corner of Washington and Water, lived in by Moses Boyle, now Bowser stock barn west opposite the school house John T. Rhodes and south Joseph Sawtell on the Barney lot in 1838, Henry Miller on the lot back of Barney store. Hector Blake on the Dawson farm and David Butler on the Butler farm. Across the river and opposite the first bridge we have a Mr. Brandt and Conwell Rood. There were probably other lots I fail to find authentic records of. I think this brings us up to 1838, when the county was organized. From 1838 to 1842, when the town was plotted we have George Barney and Henry Fales on the river bank and who later built separate cabins, but are not registered as land owners at this date. Later there was a cabin on the George Houck place now owned by Mrs. Wilmer Sechler and probably lived in by John or Jeremiah Rhodes, sons of John R. Rhodes, who lived across the road. Now we are up to the filing or recording of the plot and from now on, its sure Spencerville. The second dam having been built in 1839 an upright saw mill was installed. The mill was at first open and not put under cover until later, first sawing its own lumber for construction. The logs were hauled into the mill for sawing by a block and tackle system. The low carts, the pleasure cars for small boys on Sunday afternoons. The north door of the mill opened the dam, a favorite place where one could watch the swirling water and oft times a trysting place for lovers. A good story is told of one of our later professional men. One night when riding his father’s horses to water, a forlorn maiden appeared on the apron of the dam and threatened to throw herself in the water if he didn’t return as her lover. He is said to have said "go ahead" and rode off. Both lived to love another day. Mr. Dawson added a planing mill as is attested by the fine lumber used in the construction of the grist mill. Mr. Dawson dying in 1859, the mill was sold in the sixties to Zimmerman and Murray. Previously to building a dam, we had the home-made corn crusher, made out of a log some 3 feet high. One end was hollowed out by boring and burning, cleaned out and the corn crushed by a huge pedestal or pole. This was the source of many corn cakes. The first water mill was erected on Bear Creek north of where S. Joe now is, by William Mathews who lived on the Dills farm. The stones were about 2 feet in diameter and were turned by a flutter wheel on an upright post set in a tub, through one side of which the water flowed. Corn dripped a grain at a time. A bushel of corn taking 24 hours for crushing. An early saw mill was built for John Zimmerman on his farm west of town by Peter Bowman of Butler, according to the DeKalb county history published in 1914. By 1850, Elias Zimmerman had bought the mill and in 1853 moved to Leo and operated a mill until 1873 when he came to Spencerville to relieve his father who was ill. John Zimmerman dying, 1875 Elias moved to Auburn. The first settlers forded the river, but it was not long until a bridge was built and it stood north of the present bridge some 5 or 600 feet. For many years one of the foundation logs could be seen on the east bank. The west end rested on a support and the road followed the south bank up to the saw mill. The bridge floor was of logs, hewed flat on one side to better lay on the cross logs and was said to flop over if driven across with to much speed. The side rail was the only protection and Cora Stewart well remembers crossing the bridge to Sunday School, and Ezra Horn of breaking through while taking a load of wheat to the mill. There has been much controversy as to when the present red bridge was built. For years there was sign on the bridge giving the date and names of the commissioners and builders. The sign having disappeared led to dispute. After much researching of the commissioners, records by John Zimmerman, he found the following record. Record "F," Page 440, June 4, 1873—Petition to Commissioners filed by A. Leichty and others for the construction of a bridge over the Little St. Joe River in Concord Township. Record "F," Page 449, September 1, 1873--- Parties present bids for the building of a bridge over the St. Joe River, near Spencerville according to the legal notices published in the Waterloo Press and the Auburn Courier, two newspapers published in DeKalb County. The board being fully advised award contract as per specification on file, to John A. McKay, for the construction of abutments and superstructure, Board agrees to pay said McKay, the sum of twenty-three dollars per lineal foot for one hundred forty six feet of the bridge which amount is to be paid as fast as the material is furnished and the work progresses upon the order of the Board. Said bridge is to be finished on or before November 1, 1873, in accordance with contract. Record "F," Page 451, September 2, 1873---Board ordered payment to John McKay of twelve dollars for drawings and specifications of the bridge. Record "F," Page 552, March 2, 1874---Board made payment to William Richardson, as superintendent, the sum of $202.50 for services as superintendent of the bridge near Spencerville and other bridges in the county.(Note---This man, William Richardson, was a member of the Board of Commissioners---and was president of the Board.) The bridge has served long and well and has withstood many high waters. The big flood of 1898 tested its security, the water reaching its sills, but while the levee gave way in many places, and the approach on the east end washed away, the bridge stood. This led to the re-enforcement of the levee on the north side by a heavy wall of planks nailed to heavy posts set deep in the ground and seemingly good for all time. The bridge stands now as the only land mark of early days and remembered by many, although Provines drug store built in 1874 is a close runner up. John Zimmerman and Henry Murray further improved the saw mill and buying timber, sawed it and sold in open market. After John Zimmerman’s death Thomas Murray having moved to Spencerville he and his brother, Henry, bought the mill property for $2000. Henry having had considerable training in the grist mill, was the head miller. Tom has charge of the saw mill, later adding a handle factory and shipped handles by car load. Timber becoming more scarce and competition by the steam mills more acute the saw mill was abandoned in 1904-1905. Work in the meantime had been going on since 1839 in building the grist mill. Owing to the scarcity of help the grist mill’s progress was slow. It stood 4 stories above a 2-story basement, its sills being from 12 to 14 inches square and from 30 to 40 feet long. The upper part of the building was in the same proportion. Two large stones were installed, one for corn and one for wheat. The first flour was ground in 1845 from wheat raised on the Dawson farm. Just who built the mill we don’t know. In the Fort Wayne News, we find items stating that Mr. Henry Johns and Ruben Dawson had been at Spencerville inspecting his mill property. Henry Johns having built the Rudisill dam and mill, was probably there in an advisory capacity. Men who worked on the construction of the mill were John Zimmerman, George Barney, Henry Fales, Alexander DeVilbis and others. By 1885 Murray Bros. had removed the stone for grinding flour and installed rollers. This made a finer and whiter flour, which they called, Pearl Drop, the pride of St. Joe valley. After closing the saw mill, Mr. Tom Murray took over the marketing of the new flour, selling it in the surrounding towns. Thomas Murray died in 1911; Henry Murray retired and leased the grist mill to Gene Hensel and Clarence Gloyd for two years. Not meeting with satisfactory success, the mill was closed for a time and sold to Jake Grill, who installed electricity and ground feed. Grill died in 1917 and the mill was sold to Harvey Kimes, who sold the lumber for construction purposes and thus passed one of the best remembered land marks of the town. Just who worked in the grist mill through the various owners we know but few. During the Dawson ownership we know of no one. Joseph Sawtell, the agent, was too busy at other things and there must have been a full time miller. With the Murray brothers we know of Joe Henderson, Milt Hush, Zack Keagy with George Wilson and Wall Fales as helpers, and Gene Hensel, miller. Men who worked at the saw mill were Frank and Vess Wise, Ami Baker, Wall Fales and others. We nearly forgot the race which furnished the water to run the grist mill. This was a big undertaking with so little help to be had. The race is nearly ¼ of a mile long and from 3 to 4 and 5 feet deep. The ground had to be removed by plows, scrapers and the ground built the wall on the east side. The west side following a low bank, made its own wall. The mill being nearly ready for work, and no water, Sawtell is said to have gone over to Antwerp and brought in a bunch of men working on the canal. No hotel facilities, he placed them in tents across the river from the mill. The Saturday night and Sunday celebrations furnished talk for the day. Any way he got the ditch dug and the water turned on and the mill operating for grinding corn in the fall of 1844. The first store in the settlement was in the cabin of Joseph Peas on the river bank. He was here in 1833 according to a news item about the death of his wife who was struck by lightning. The commissioners have passed a law, licensing storekeepers. We find him listed as licensed on March 1, 1838, to sell merchandise and groceries. How much longer I do not know, his name does not appear in any tax list or court record that I could find. The next store was that of Ruben J. Dawson, conducted by Joseph Sawtell and stood on the alley across from the George Smith residence. He too was issued a license in 1838 and again in 1841. The last license read for both local, foreign goods, together with drugs and medicines. The settlement grew, and Mr. Dawson feeling he should be more on the job, built a new store on the south end of Main Street, now known as the Olds store. Around this time an ad appeared in the Fort Wayne News in 1840. A grocery ad enumerates the following: "We carry a full supply of groceries, such as the best coffee, sugar, rice, salaratus, molasses along with cotton goods and a full line of nails, axes, shovels and log cabins"---typical of the Dawson stock. Later Mr. Dawson built a dwelling house attached to the store, and probably lived with his agent up to the time of his marriage in 1845. By 1843, Mr. Dawson had sold the store to Bushrood Catlin, who operated it with his son, Romeo. When Mr. Catlin was elected state representative in 1856, Romeo became sole proprietor. Mr. Bushrood Catlin died in 1860 and Romeo Catlin in 1862. They especially stressed patent medicine and drugs as a part of their stock. Around 1862, the stock was sold to Ainsworth Aldridge and John Furlo, who again sold it to S. N. Olds in 1866. Mr. Olds came in from Fort Wayne. He was assisted in the store by his sons as they became of age. Mort, being the eldest, was much interested in advertisement and printed a small local paper called the "News." We have Vol. 1, No. 2, presented by the Zona Horn estate and more directly by Mrs. Venice Folts, dated March 16, 1877. Mort Olds left Spencerville in 1878, married Ada Coder and moved to Newville where he clerked in the Coborn store. By 1880 he had moved to St. Joe and went into business with Enullus Case and started the St. Joe News in 1884. Will, coming on next, assisted in the store until his father retired in 1883. Mr. Olds bought the Cahill store in 1884 and established Will in the grocery and tin business. Henry Carmes joined him as a partner an after a year or so Will sold his share to Dan Bair. Will continued to handle the tin shop for a year and operated in the back room adjoining the store. He moved to St. Joe in 1886 and went in partners with Mort, buying out Mr. Case and running a dry goods and novelty store. Arthur Olds, the younger son, clerked in the grist mill and for the Chaney Bros. and went to Auburn in 1887. Simon Oches built a store on Mill Street across from the Oberholtzers, on the lot now owned by Mrs. Audrey Wade, around 1856. By 1862, he had sold the store to Henry Miller and John Meyers. Miller bought Meyers’ share in 1863 and in 1864 placed Jake Leighty in charge. In 1864 John Leighty, Sr., had built the 2-story store on the corner of the alley on Main Street and bought the Miller stock in 1865, and we had Leighty and Son. Jake bought his father’s share and ran the store until he sold it to Peter Bishop in 1874 and moved to St. Joe. Peter Bishop moved to town and placed his son, Al, in charge. Al Bishop, having clerked at the Harter store at Fort Wayne. Peter Bishop had 5 sons, Melvin, being in the lumber business already. Al Bishop moved to Auburn around 1870 and was associated with the Zimmerman Company. Will Bishop stayed with his father until around 1894 and moved to Michigan. Edd and John, stayed in the store until their father retired in 1898. Edd moved to Auburn and opened a cigar factory. John, also went to Auburn, clerked in the Harter store, operated a store in Michigan, returned to Auburn and later moved to Blufton and opened a novelty store which he operated successfully until he died in 1926. Peter Bishop sold the store to Erick Brothers in 1888. Another store we know of, was run in the old log school house, back of the Barney stores and faced Auburn Street. The lot is now owned by Mr. Samuel Foltz. Marquis Rhodes and William Tindall, his brother-in-law operated the store. Mr. Rhodes having had experience by clerking in the Orff store at Fort Wayne. The store was opened in 1855 and by 1858 Mr. Rhodes moved to Auburn and Mr. Tindall disposed of the stock. The next large store was owned by Henry Miller and George Barney in 1865. Mr. Barney bought Miller’s share and operated the store with the help of his sons. The first building was on the corner of Pearl and Main streets and the store is well remembered by many of us. He took his sons into the business as they reached the proper age. Sol., the oldest, after a few years had his father build a second building and opened a hardware, which he ran successfully until he moved to St. Joe in 1882. After Sol had entered the hardware, Frank came on—George Barney retiring in 1879—left the store in Frank and Mark’s hands. Frank going to St. Joe around 1883, left Mark alone and he formed a partnership with Beeks Erick. The firm is now Barney and Erick, They ran a successful business until Mark retired and left for Ohio. Around this time the store was sold to John and Henry Beams and we have the Beams Bros. Beeks and Granville Erick formed a partnership and bought the Bishop store in 1888. John beams having been in the furniture business with Henry Fales, formed a partnership with his brother, Henry, and bought the Barney and Erick store in 1889. Henry Beams moved to town and they hired Edd as chief clerk. John retired around 1891, selling his share of the dry goods and groceries to Edd and Jack. Jack took over the hardware and Edd retained the dry goods and groceries. Around 1898 Edd took over the telephone exchange, later selling a share to Henry Beams. Edd died in 1915. Frank Beams bought Edd’s share and after his father’s death in 1922 bought the estate’s share. He moved the exchange across the street and in 1948 sold it to Bill Miller. Frank sold the store stock to a party from Fort Wayne who disposed of the goods. Frank used the store for storage. The store was destroyed by fire when the block burned in 1938. With the fire many old land marks were destroyed. The store had been built in the sixties. Erick Bros. having hired Will as a clerk sold the store to Will and Fred Heilman and went to Oklahoma, opened a general store and went into the real estate game. Granville died in 1895. After a few years Will bought Fred’s share, Fred moving to Fort Wayne in 1908. Business was slow and the merchants introduced various attractions serving to build up the trade. One outstanding one was introduced by Will Eric, called Clock Day. Every one making a purchase was given a ticket and allowed to guess when the clock would stop. Prizes were given for the correct answers. The clock having been wound, the face covered and properly timed so as to stop on clock day. The accompanying picture attests its popularity. At first the prizes were 5.00, 3.00 and 1.00 in cash, later other articles of merchandise were given. Will sold the store to George Gloyd and went into the bank as teller. Mr. Gloyd dying, the stock was sold to John Mathews who moved the stock elsewhere. During World War I the store was closed later used by the local Red Cross for relief work. The women of the town prepared bandages, sanitary dressings and night clothing or the soldiers. By 1921 Merritt Barney rented the store and installed a grocery, later he moved to Hicksville and had charge of the express office. Sold the stock to Higgins who sold it to Walter Baker, who ran it successfully for some years, putting grocery wagons on the road, and brought the grocery to the farmer’s door. Will Sommers drove one of the wagons for several years dying one day while on route. Baker sold to Brown, who sold to Crawford. The Kimes having clerked for Mr. Crawford bought the store, put in new goods, installed better lighting and was just beginning to reap their reward when the store, its contents, and the Masonic Hall on the second floor were destroyed by fire on New Year’s Eve in 1949. The fire destroyed a building built by Bob Beams, and sold by Will Erick to the Universal Tool-Die Co., and did considerable damage to the post office. After Beams Bros., moved their furniture to the old hardware store, Beams sold the building to Raymond Bowser and Connie Davis who operated a implement store, the store burned in 1910, and the firm dissolved. Davis moving to Battle Creek and Bowser going into the cattle business and built the large stock barn on the corner across from his home and long known as the Davie Bean residences. Around World War I, Bob Beams had built a store between the Bishop store and post office, entered partnership with Ernest Steward and sold the Overland automobile. The firm dissolved after a few years and Bob moved to Fort Wayne and entered the real estate business. Steward moved to Garrett. The store was used as a restaurant, a saloon, and a barber ship. Later sold to the Universal Die Co. Burned in the big fire on New Year’s Eve, 1949. Doyle Fisher having leased the old drug store room, put in a line of groceries, and was burned out on Christmas Eve, 1945. The store being vacant, Ray Bowser and William Reed bought the building and put in a new line of groceries and opened a gas station. They disbanded, Ray Bowser moved to St. Joe, and Bill Reed took over the gas station, adding a repair and accessory shop. By 1950 Mr. Reed’s health caused him to sell to Douglass Poisel, and he retired. Around 1917 Frank Silberg built the brick store on the west side of main street, and opened up the first Ford garage. Frank organized a company to raise foxes. It was not a success and he lost all of his investment, including the store. The building was taken over by Frank Butler, Roscoe Waters and Will Erick. It was rented for various purposes, the last being the Heffner saloon and sold by Will Erick to the Universal Tool and Die Co. By this time the settlers were ready for new furniture and some for coffins. Our first coffin maker was Alexander DeVelbis. After he left town for the farm he erected a two-story building on his farm and manufactured fanning mills as well as coffins. Mr. DeVelbis dying in 1861, a few years later the family moved to Fort Wayne. Now comes Frederick Quinsy, 1862, a cabinet and coffin maker. He built a store on Pearl street across from Mrs. Oberholtzer, and put in a small line of furniture. Mr. Quinsy died in 1870. August Quinsy, his son, bought the stock and opened a new furniture store on the corner of Main and Pearl, known as the Restaurant building. He had a cabinet maker by the name of John King, who was a fine craftsman as shown by some of the present day heirloom. August Quinsy moved to St. Joe around 1884. August Quinsy ran the following add in the DeKalb Co. Annual for 1881. "Undertaking a speciality with picture of a hearse, With plumes drawn by a span of black horses, Embalming and its advantages, Restore the corpse to life-like appearance, Destroys offensive odors, Prevents spreading of disease, Arrests decomposition, Will preserve corpse for 3 to 10 days." In 1871, Henry Fales, built a furniture store on the Fletcher property, about where the factory now stands. Orange Fales joined his father in the business and by 1885 had sold his share to John Beams and moved to Elkhart. Baltzer Koontz was the cabinet maker and made fine cupboards, built by him, are popular antiques of today. John Beams went to Chicago and attended an embalming school, came home and they built an annex and carried a large line of factory coffins. By this time Henry had moved to town and we had our first Beams Bros. Their hearse equally elegant, flounted no plumes but had silver mountings and the horses, Ice Gebord’s blacks. They carried a large line of furniture and on the walls, those huge chromos, no dining room complete without a fruit picture. After Jack built the block store they moved the furniture to the old hardware, sold the building to Bowser and Davis for an implement store. John Beams retiring in 1891, Henry continued the funeral business an served the country for miles around. Now we are wonderfully cared for by Roscoe Walters, so if you are as homely as a mud fence, you can feel assured you will end up looking like a contestant in a beauty contest, only with more clothes on. The slow walking horses have lost out to progress and you are whirled away by a Ford or a Packard and sure to arrive at St. Peter on time. The first hotel or tavern was ran by Aaron Fetters on Pearl street, and just west of where Harvey Kimes now lives. He was followed by Joseph Pease, it seems for on March 1, 1868, he is licensed to operate a tavern. Just how long these men operated we do not know. John Rhodes coming in 1834 opened a tavern on the corner where the Lutheran church now stands and called it the Exchange. His brother, Jerry Rhodes, who first settled on Bear Creek, moved to town and took over called his hotel, The Pioneer Hotel. Grandma Rhodes, as she was know to everyone, would not allow whiskey to be sold, but aimed by her good cooking to suppliant the whiskey desire. A good story is told by retired drummer, who lived near me in Fort Wayne by the name of Smith. Mr. Smith traveled for a cigar firm. Two traveling men with their trunks rolled in one cold stormy night, ordered supper and a pitcher of hot water. Coming to the table, they brought out their whiskey and proceeded to make themselves a hot sling. Grandma Rhodes appeared on the scene and asked what they were doing. Just making a little hot grog to keep them from catching cold. She advised them they couldn’t use liquor in her house if she knew it. Picked up the food and went to the kitchen. They argued but was assured they would get no supper there, but they might stay the night on account of the storm. Both went suppresses to bed. The Rhodes continued to operate the hotel up to around 1882, selling to Josh Nichols. Nichols operated it until 1887, when he sold it to the Lutheran church. Thus disappeared one of the land marks, the large swinging sign, with the picture of a hotel and words, Exchange House. The sign was the choice target of the small boy. The railroad coming along at St. Joe. The traveling men, drove from there and the hotel had less business. By 1891 we had the Wabash and less call for hotel accommodations. Mrs. Jacob Baltz famed as a cook led to her serving meals for a few years and she was followed by Mrs. Gloyd, who served equally good food, up to the time of her retirement around 1940.
NOW FOR THE RESTAURANTS---Our first restaurant was the cheese and crackers kind, bought and eaten in the grocery store. Around 1860, the older Silberg boys opened a restaurant in the Simon Oach’s building, not meeting with success, closed up. Later John Scott and Steve Silberg moved a small building back of the saloon on the corner and opened a restaurant. August Quinsy buying the property, they moved to the old Emanuel house on Mill street, and back of the corner house. Just how long they lasted we don’t know. About 1904 Joe Webb bought the place and opened a restaurant. His health failing (asthma) he went to Colorado for relief, stayed a few years and returned. He had sold the restaurant to Add Kline, his health failing he sold the stock to Will Sommers, who operated it for about five years. His health failing sold it back to Kline who had returned and who later sold the stock to Mrs. Joe Webb. After a few years she rented it to various parties among whom we remember John Lake, Clem Truce and others. The last one to occupy it was Mrs. Charles Chapman who closed it around 1947, and the building is now vacant. We had other restaurants but none long lived. Sam Markle built one between the saloon and Barney’s hardware. Ollie Braybrook opened one in the post office building followed by Sam High who operated it for some ten years. When he retired Audrey Wade opened up a tea room in the Bob Beams store. Mrs. Bill Baidenger and Mrs. Ray Zimmerman opened one in the Henry Markle residence, and now we have the Channey girls in the Foltz building on the Baltz lot, facing Pearl street, serving good meals to the public. Nearly forgot that John Shutt and Goldie opened a restaurant in the Olds store building, later took over by Mrs. Charles Chapman who later moved to the corner building. Up to and around the 70s we had no drug store, the grocery stores carried the patient medicines. Dr. Emanuel had enlarged his office and carried a few, but no store for public patronage until John Provines built the brick store in 1873. He having come to town in 1872, opened a grocery and carried a few drugs. The chief of which was quinine and dye material for the women. He moved his stock in a wheel barrow and added a full lines of drugs. Dr. George Murphy first assisted him and taught him the science of preparing prescriptions under his tutelage he went before the board and was granted a license to compound prescriptions. After Dr. Murphy left town he was assisted by Frank Lancaster. Mr. Lancaster dying, he pressed the girls into service. Minnie marrying early left it up to Claude and Ella. Claude serving the longer period, his health failing, moved to the farm. Claude marrying passed it on to Ella, and later John, Jr., had a swing at it went to Purdue and graduated in pharmacy, clerk in Indianapolis, and opened a store in Frankfort, where he now resides. MEAT MARKETS---Home butchering was done by many, every farmer being provided with a meat grinder, sausage stuffer and lard press. Butchering days of choice bring Thanksgiving and New Years Day. And at that time we had men who made a business of butchering for others. Among them Bennett Leighty and the Springer boys, John and Ben. These men took over, killed the hog, scalding it in immense barrels of hot water to remover the hair, cut up the hog, made the sausage, rendered the lard and did all the dirty work. These men had much to learn from the butchering of today, who probably never saw a soup bone and found pork chops, where none were ever known to exit, and we buy them. The first meat market was a meat wagon route by which the farmers were supplied. As early as 61, Alton DeVilbis had established a wagon route to the south far as Leo and across to Maysville. The Chaney boys soon followed with a route to the east and west. They kept two wagons on the road for many years. By 1870, they had built a shop with a room for cooling the meat with ice also iced their wagons, and were known for their cleanliness and freshness of their meats. At this time, steaks were selling for 10 cents per pound. Roasts with soup bones and liver given free to them who asked. By 1880, Reason devoted most of his time to the shop with Arthur Olds as clerk. By the late eighties the Chaney boys retired, selling the shop to Nute Hursh and Criss McNabb who moved it down town on the corner of the Wise lot. They sold the shop to Henry Carkes and Fisher. Fisher dropped out selling his share to Gush Cupp, Cupp sold to Laten Lake, Lake to Guss Heffner, Heffner to George Henderson, Henderson sold to Bert Fisher. After World War II, Fisher’s son Lynne joined his father in the business, later Bert Fisher retired and Lynn now conducts the present market together with an up-to-date grocery. BLACKSMITHS---Our first blacksmith was John Moody who came from Ohio around 1840. Mr. Moody had a small shop on the farm west of town and did repair work for himself and neighbors. He died early after coming to Indiana. In town the first one we know of was William Snyder, who came for Cuba and opened a shop on the corner, later known as the George Wise shop. He only stayed two years and moved to Auburn around 1871. George Wise followed him and operated a shop for many years. As his boys grew, they helped in the shop and later entered other trades. Vess opening a shop elsewhere. Theodore Kressley coming to town worked for George Wise and later bought the shop around 1886, Mr. Wise retiring. Kressley sold the building to Jack Beams who tore it down and built the cement block store. Mr. Kressley moving to Auburn in 1909. By 1876, Mr. G. W. A. Smith had come to town and opened a shop on the corner of Mill and Water streets, present residence of Mrs. Shook. His son, Job, worked for a while, later, going into the tile business. Just when Mr. Smith closed his shop we do not know, but he was still here in 1905. By 1877, Jacob Baltz, Sr., had moved to town and built a small shop on his lot where Pearl Goldsmith lives. The little red shop is remembered by some of the older ones. He sold the place to S. S. Shutt in 1881, and moved the shop down town. Bought the Isaac Oakes store and moved it cross-lots into the Rummell property. Around 1884 J. F. Boltz moved to town and joined his father, Jacob Sr., retiring in 1888. J. F. took over and hired Florence Smith. By 1895, Florence Smith had bought a share and around 1902 moved to Garrett. James Vallieu now joined the firm and Mr. J. F. Baltz retired around 1925. James Vallieu ran the shop for a few years and moved to Dayton. Since that time William Foltz has continued to serve the people in his shop on West Pearl street, west of the old Barney store. WAGON SHOP--- The wagon shops of the town followed closely the blacksmith. The first one was that of Henry Meyes, starting around 1867. He conducted it at various locations generally in association with the blacksmith, last stand was in the George Wise shop in 1906. Around 1874, James Gibford built the first wagon shop on the river bank and formed a partnership with John Horn. Mr. Gibford sold to Horn in 1887 and moved to Jackson township. Later Frank Wise bought in and opened a paint shop on the second floor. Mr. Wise moving to Auburn, Horn conducted the shop until he moved to Fort Wayne in 1886. Just what happened to the shop after that I failed to learn. Around 1880 Elmer Chaney built a paint shop on the Scott property and east of the George Wises residence about where John Shutt now lives. The shop was operated for several yeas, when he sold the shop to Jack Henderson, who moved it to his farm. Mr. Chaney moving to Auburn. Around 1890 Henry Markle and Ebb Chapman opened a cabinet shop back of his house, facing Pearl street, formerly the Fletcher property. Mr. Chapman retired and continued to build houses, moving to Fort Wayne around 1920. Henry Markle retiring. As the automobile had not come in as yet and we traveled by horseback and wagon, harness was necessary for the horses. The first harness shop was that of O. W. Rummell who came in 1860. The shop stood on Pearl street and easily found by the display of buggy whips dangling from a ring in front. I used to love to loaf there while Mr. Rummell quoted passages for Emerson, Shakespeare and Ben Franklin. He continued in operation up to nearly the time of his death in 1902. By 1877 Joe Sommers had come to town and opened a shop on Water street, the present site of Harvey Kimes residence. He also had a whip sign and generally a few horse collars around the door. During this time the average beau took much delight in his buggy whip and had been known to bring it into church along with his best girl. O.W. Rummel’s father who was with him at first used to make wonderful coin purses that would fold up like a lily pad and for our dads, a small leather bag with draw strings to carry his gold in. A few had gold pieces in those days and carefully guarded them from association with the common silver. THE SHOE SHOP--- At an early date it was common for the shoe cobbler to visit the home and do the shoe repairing, solder the tin ware and make himself useful. The first shoemaker was Asa Fletcher who came to Indiana in 1837, and to Spencerville in 1842. The little red shop stood where the bank now stand. Mr. Fletcher used it for the post office during the Civil War later Dr. Houghton used it for an office. Mr. Markle buying the property tore it down. In 1846 there was a man by the name of Peter Pollens who operated a shop on Washington street. He left Spencerville in 1852, storing his working tools with Joseph Sawtell. Isaac Farver of Ashland, Ohio, a brother-in-law of Pollens came to Indiana and bought the outfit, opening a shop where Date Webb now live. Isaac Farver dying in 1893, his son Lemaneul (Lem) Farver had a shop over the hardware for a few years. Mr. Farver has a wealth of historical data relating to Spencerville in his "Journal." He tells of many interesting items from his grand father and father’s experiences. Some of which will appear in odds and ends. Our next shoe shop was that to Andrew Schapach, who came around 1878, and conducted a shop from many years dying in 1906. OUR HAT SHOPS---Our first millinery shop was run by the Wysong sisters in Aunt Becky Bowman house later taken over by Aunt Becky herself. The making of any ladies hats was some affair. The straw hat being made of braid was fitted and shaped over a plaster of paris mold. Many times the braid being colored to suit the buyer. Some of these molds are now in possession of Mrs. Jessie Sommers who now owns the property. It took no little skill to make a hat and next year the hat was riped apart, re-shaped, a new flower and ribbon added. Boys look out--- As time moved on we had other millineries, Mrs. Emma Allen being the most popular and probably the most artistic was in business many years. A Miss Alice McKay had a shop at the Nichols residence, Hattie Cook and Tilly Knight in 1880, in the Houghton house followed by Mrs. Jim Steward, Mrs. O. V. Hart, Mary Comsky and Louie Rummel, and now my lady can buy one from Sears Roebuck, or at Fort Wayne on dollar day. Dress makers were a necessity of those days, the good wife busy with the children had but little time for her own dress making, and generally had a good seamstress in for a week’s sewing. A good sewing woman worked for 50 cents and worked from eight in the morning until bed time. Wedding dresses were made at home and under an understanding of secrecy. As time went on better fees were demanded. Laurentine Gibtord was much in demand earlier for the better dresses. Lucy Ann Fairfield and her daughter-in-law, Hattie Hollobaugh Fairfield and Cenne Rhodes followed later with equal skill and now we can buy our dresses ready made on almost every four corners. The barber shop became a necessity when the style of wearing the hair long and down on the shoulder to crock-over-the-head style led to the all shingled. The first shop I knew of was the Cash Silberg one on the corner of the Silberg lot. The shop had a mug rack, the Police Gazette and a public dispensation of shabby stories generally no small boy was allowed. (Mother cut their hair.) Cash moving Napanee, Steve took over and operated for a few years. The shop sold and moved over beside the Masonic Hall. Jason Keys, John Sturgis and Charlie Scott operating. Some one built a small shop on the Barney lot between the hardware and blacksmith shop. Operators were Charles McCrorry, Will Allen and others, Sam Warnner had a shop in the old Emanuel house at one time. Charlie Scott shaving in all of them, moved his shop home. At present we have but one, Merle Wayne Furnish. The beauty shop is presided over by Mrs. LaVerne Angle, daughter of Raymond Rhodes. SALOONS---up to 1855 we have no record of a saloon in Spencerville, drinking being done in taverns. Owing to the heavy drinking prevalent at this time, the state took hold and issued quart shops to the county. Seven were allotted to DeKalb county, one of which was assigned to Spencerville and Moses Soper selected to run it. This shop stood on Mill street and later lived in by Mr. George Smith. The older ones remember it as the house with the red and white stripes. Mr. Soper not being a success financially as he failed to pay his license fee was arrested and the state law annuled as it did not accomplish what it was supposed to do. Later a law was passed turning the liquor control over to the commissioners. By 1860, the commissioners were authorized to issue license to reliable men, when not opposed by the community, in which the saloon was located. The first one we know of was the Dan Zehner, who operated on the corner of Main and Pearl street, the present restaurant building. Just when he started we do not know but by 1872 John Provines had a grocery there. Along in the seventies John Reader built a saloon on Main street between the Barney store and the blacksmith shop. Just who operated the saloon at first we do not know, Dave Dove, Bill Rhodes, Garry Braybrook and others, occupied it at various times. I believe the last one was Garry Braybrook. Later a saloon was conducted in the present post office building by Gust Heffner. The building being sold to Sam High, he moved across the road to the Silberg building, which occupied the old site of the furniture store. Mr. Heffner dying in 1940, his wife took over and operated the saloon until closed by remonstrance. After Jeff Walter bought the Olds store in 1888 he conducted a saloon until his death in 1902. Later Mrs. Huffmen bought the place and her father ran the saloon until closed by remonstrance. Since which time there has been no saloon. During the time William Rhode operated the saloon, the W. C. T. U. became active and asked the privilege of conducting a prayer meeting. He assured them they would be welcome any time and one Saturday p.m., made the call. He received them graciously and warned his customers that the bar was closed during the prayer meeting and that no jibes or unsavory remarks would be allowed. After the services he asked if they would have refreshments, declining he told them to come again. The following winter Mr. Rhodes was converted and quit the saloon business. About 1880, John Cahill and the Masons built the wooden building now occupied by the post office. Cahill using the first floor for a tin shop and the Masons the upper floor. About 1883, Mr. Cahill moved to Valpariso and Will Olds bought the shop, taking in Henry Carnes for a partner and opened a grocery, Olds doing tin repairing in the back. A year later Olds moved to St. Joe and they sold the store to Dan Bair. Bair operated the store several years. Earlier John Carnes ran a watch repair shop for a short time, when Arthur James took over an carried a line of watches and clocks along with his repair work, he retired. Bair sold the store and moved to New Ville. Since this time the store had had various businesses in it; saloon, grocery and restaurants. Sam High ran the restaurant for several years buying the building in 1915. The Masons sold their part to him and moved over Ericks store. At one time it was used as a salesroom for buggies and automobiles by Wall Fisher who traded stores with the post office, and which occupied the building across the street. Since which time the post office has stayed put and satisfactorily run by Mrs. Fred High, Fred owning the building. TILE AND BRICK YARD---Some time in the seventies Dave Butler and John Carnes operated a factory on the Shutt place just this side of the railroad. Carnes dropped out and Mr. Butler operated alone with George Hollabaugh in charge. Help becoming scarce and the clay unsatisfactory the place was closed. Around 1880 a new tile and brick factory was started on the river bank, This was on a co-operative plan. Each man to received a small sum each week and to share equally when the stock was sold. It was organized by Jim Steward and Ell Moodey, William Hollabaugh and Job Smith as partners. It didn’t work owing to many difficulties and the business was sold to the Steward Bros., (Newton and Wall.) Newton Steward sold his mill on the county line and his brother, Wall, joining him, they put in a steam saw mill and operated the two together very successfully. After a time they bought the old Methodist church moved it to the mill and put in a plaining mill. Around 1900 Newton Steward retired and started a lumber yard across from his house on the Henry Fales property. On being assured the Wabash Railroad was coming through, he moved to the west side of the railroad and opened a lumber and coal yard. Wall son followed, moving the sawmill and added building material and later bought and sold grain. Wall opened up a coal yard in connection with his sawmill. After his death in 1904, the lumber yard was sold to Arthur Hyman of Fort Wayne, who moved to town and about five years afterward sold to Wall Steward and moved to Fort Wayne. Wall Steward discontinued the mill after buying the lumber yard, Wall Steward dying in 1916, his wife, Cora, and her son, Pete, operated the yard later selling to the Standard Lumber Company of Fort Wayne, who operated the yard through an agent and finally moved it to Grabill. Some where along the line a grain elevator was erected and bought grain. In 1944, M. W. E. Wenninger bought the elevator and coal yard added a feed mill, selling fertilizers and conducting a successful business. Nearly forgot we has a lumber yard in the seventies operated by Melvin Bishop, on the one time Bishop lot, on the river bank and across for Date Webbs. Mr. Bishop moving to St. Joe, took his lumber along an opened a lumber yard at St. Joe. WAGON SHOPS--- Around 1879, Frank Wise built a wagon and paint shop on the river bank, Harry Meyers, the wagon maker. John Horn joined Wise and by 1881 Wise had moved to Auburn. John Horn operated the shop until 1890 when he moved to Fort Wayne, selling the shop to Harry Meyers and James Gibford moved to Jackson township and by 1886 Mr. Meyers was working in the back room of the Baltz blacksmith shop. Later he moved to the Wise shop where he worked until he retired. Near the same time Elmer Chancy built a paint shop on the Scott lot about where John Shutt now lives. Around 1883 or 1884 he moved to Auburn. The building was remodeled and lived in by Mrs. John Wise, and later sold to Jack Henderson and moved to his farm. In our haste, we nearly forgot the ashery on the river bank about where the old Walker house stood. Hugh logs of hardwood were burned and the ashes hauled to the ashery placed in large kills and saturated with water. The lye so produced was evaporated leaving a product called, black ash. This was sold and further processed, forming potash. The finer salts were in demand by chemist and dyers and the refuse sold for fertilizer. There was also a pottery shop farther up the river and pieces of broken jars and crocks used to be quite common about where the Hollabaugh residence now stand. Mr. Cora Steward remembers it and has a jar made there and given her by her Grandmother Kimes. Down on the DeVilbis farm, we had a fanning mill factory, developed and made by Alexander DeVilbis. This was a great labor saving device as it cleaned the wheat from the chaff an was greatly in demand and DeVilbis says in his history that farmers came from long distances to see the machine and it was sold after his death and a large factory built in Fort Wayne. A town nearly 120 years old, naturally has some fires. So far as I can find out there were no serious fires until the Bowman saw mill burned around 1878. The mill was owned by Bittinger and Wilson at the time and never rebuilt. The next one we note was the George Kimes barn east of towns. Mr. Kimes was nearly suffocated trying to save the horses but got the horses out, but had to be dragged out himself. The burning of the Provines barn, in 1892, was probably the result of small boys or some drunk. The Bowser and Maurery fire was a serious matter as they had been in business but for a short time and the stock new, busted Davis and put a crimp in Bowser, 1912. The 1938 was a conflagration that wiped out the whole square both the Beams stores, the old telephone store, a small building built for a saloon and the Jack Beams hardware and K. of P. Hall. Jean Baker, living in the old store, lost his household goods, A strong wind blowing the fire could not be controlled. Buildings burned to the ground. Doyle Fisher came in from Toledo and started a grocery store building. Christmas Eve, 1945, the contents were destroyed by fire. Mr. Fisher returned to Toledo. New Year’s Eve, 1950, was another bad fire. The old Bishop store, the sock, now owned by Kimes, the Bob Beams store remodeled and added to by the Universal Tool Company was totally destroyed. Much damage was done to the post office building and the Masonic Lodge, goat and all burned up. Owing to so much grease in the machine shop and the old building the fire got to much headway before the neighboring fire department arrived. U. S. MAIL---Our first postal route was established by the government in 1839, and known as U. W. P. route No. 2654 and ran from Fort Wayne to St. Joseph, Ohio. Mail to be carried once a week. Jermiah Bowman, contractor, was allowed to sub-contract it at 50 cents a day and 75 cents per night. Emanuel Ulm is said to have carried the mail from Spencerville to Butler, going up one day and returning the next. As the roads improved and more settlers moved in, the means of carrying the mail expanded. Thus we go from horseback to buckboard—and by 1870 we had a magnificent coach. And when the roads grew bad, four horses to pull it. This enabled them to carry merchandise and made the route more profitable financially, and at this time the only means of sending packages from on point to another. I can remember the stagecoach with four horses pulling up before the post office at Provines drug store. Arriving in a cloud of dust, cracking of a huge whip and traveling at the neck breaking speed of three miles an hour, its arrival the one excitement of the day. POST OFFICE---In a letter written to Elias Zimmerman by his sister, Mrs. Schlater, she tells of the difficulties for pioneer life and says her brother, Laten Zimmerman drove the first mail coach from Fort Wayne to Butler, and mentions the difficulties he had to meet; such as, high waters, broken bridges and the deep mud in which he some times got stalled, and had to abandon the coach and proceed on horseback. Our first postmaster was Joseph Sawtell, appointed November 14, 1839, and the post office was probably the small store on the alley. By 1841 Ruben J. Dawson was appointed, and probably was in the new store on South Main street, later known as the Olds store. The following list of postmasters came from the Postmasters General of the Post Office Department, Washington D. C.
SPENCERVILLE, DEKALB COUNTY, INDIANA
Postmaster Date Appointed
Joseph E. Sawtell………(Office establishment)November 14, 1839
Rueben J. Dawson………………………………July 20, 1841
Asa Fletcher…………………………………….July 7, 1849
Bushrod Catlin………………………………….June 11, 1853
Joseph E. Sawtell……………………………….September 21, 1860
Irving N. Thomas……………………………….March 29, 1861
Joseph E. Sawtell……………………………….November 13, 1861
Asa Fletcher…………………………………….December 8, 1863
Jonas Emanuel………………………………….October 20, 1870
John A. Provines………………………………..July 28, 1873
Beeks Erick……………………………………..June 11, 1885
John A. Provines………………………………..June 19, 1889
Charles B. McCrory…………………………….July 28, 1893
Edwin Beams…………………………………...August 17, 1894
Jack Beams……………………………………...April 22, 1897
Golden Murray……………………………….…February 5, 1914
Golden M. High…………………………………September 25, 1918
Roscoe G. Walter………………………………..June 7, 1922
Mrs. Florence H. Steward…………………….…December 2, 1925
Mrs. Golden High (Acting)……………………. April 10, 1939
Mrs. Golden High…………………………….…December 11, 1939
You will please note that our present postmistress Golden High has served well, courteously and efficiently for 15 yeas, and we all wish her well and are grateful for her careful service. For some years after the B. & O. went through, we had our mail from St. Joe. Isreal Horn, carrier, and Raymond Rhodes, substitute. In 1902 the Wabash passing through the west end we had our mail from there. Around World War I both railroads discontinued their mail stops and we were back to the old route Fort Wayne to Butler. Isreal Horn and Raymond Rhodes carriers. In 1890 the government passed a law, creating the Rural Free Delivery. Our first route was carried by Will Henderson, George Henderson, substitute. This was a horse and buggy affair. Later a two-carrier route was established and on No. 1 we had George Henderson, Mort Shutt as substitute. No. 2, Wall Fisher, with Sherman Tyndall, substitute. Wall Fisher moving to Pleasant Lake, we had Sherman Tyndall and Beeks Erick, substitute. By this time automobiles, were in use and the route combined with Beeks Erick, carrier and Mrs. Erick, substitute. They make two trips a day—a.m., west and south; p.m., east and north. The early settlers were well aware of the necessity of schools and first met it by private schools, supported by subscriptions. Up to 1838 when the county was organized this was the only type of schooling available. These schools were conducted in part by trained teachers, having had experience in their previous home town and more frequently by some one of the families interested. This led to the question of a free school or one conducted by some organization such as the church school of the Lutherans, Catholics, or some private sectarianism as found in central part of the state. By 1847, the State called all counties to send delegates to vote on the school question. Each county was represented and the matter discussed verbally with much candor and enthusiasm. Voted carried for the free school supported by the state, county and township in which it was held. DeKalb county voted 602 for, with 326 against. The State authorized the commissioners to level a tax on the landowners to conduct the first state controlled schools. This met with much disfavor, in that the man with a large acreage paid much more than his neighbor with 20 acres and probably had more children to attend. Being a part of the northwest territory income for school purposes was one the must for the organization of the state and county. Consequently one section of every township was know as the school section, and the revenue derived for the sale of land in that section of township was devoted to school purposes, together with a tax levied. Tax of 10 cents on the $100 valuation, together with certain bounties among which a tax of 12 ½ cents on each share of bank stock made up the school fund. The management of the school was turned over to the trustees of the various townships, with the commissioners in charge of the state and county laws regulating the same. They provided a course of study naming the subject taught and recommending the books suitable for that branch. The law did not get going until 1853. By this time Concord township had nine schools all held in log houses. The average wage of a teacher was $18 for men and $10 for women. The average public school being considered to tough for lady teachers and the spring term of from eight to ten weeks, being in time, turned over to them. The commissioners were instructed to appoint a school board with the authority to hold examinations and grant licenses. The first board consisted of Fosdick, Dickenson and Bratton. Empowered to hold from one to three examinations. Fee of the applicant, $1. One of these examination was held in Spencerville. Books recommended; the McGuffey Readers and Spellers, Ray’s Arithmetic; Mitchel’s Geography and Pinnoes Grammer. I have one of the first licenses issued to my Uncle Asa Fletcher dated November 1853 and signed by S. W. Dickenson. Also one issued to my mother, Miss Ellen O. Fletcher, issued in November, 1866, and signed by Spencer Dills. States she had taught two terms. Also a teaching contract entered into by Amanda Morgan, and not signed or dated. And one issued to myself in 1885, signed by C. M. Merrica. As to the private schools in existence before 1853, we have no knowledge, I know of but one Miss Philolema Cutt, who died in 1853, and was said to have been hurried to her death by her constant teaching. She was a sister-in-law of my uncle and the Cutts came in the early forties (’42). The first school teacher we have record of was Asa Fletcher, and he taught in this own building, a log affair which stood nearly in the center of his lot and back of the present bank building. The first public school building was in the log cabin on Auburn street and directly back of the Wise blacksmith shop. Land now owned by William Foltz. It was not of a long duration as the building was torn down in the sixties. Just who the teachers were we don’t know. We do know that by 1860 the first frame school building stood on South Main street, on what is known as the Protestant Methodist parsonage, and now owned by Dr. Argyl Beams. Parts of which are included in the present barn. Teachers known to have taught are Mrs. Steven Morris, a Mr. Clark, Jacob Bittinger, Ellen O. Fletcher, William Dills, Allen DeVilbis and of course others in the course of ten years, it served as a school. I believe the last male teacher was Andrew Larrimore, who came to Spencerville and was the first principal of the Auburn School. By this time so many new settlers had come in that a new building was needed which would allow them to separate the grades. In the old one a temporary partition was the only separation. Mr. William Shutt was trustee at this time and he saw to it that a more central situation was found and built the two-story brick on the hill and it contained three rooms, two on the first floor for the primary and intermediate rooms. The building was built in 1870, and came prove it with the small stone high up the front gable and has the date together with the inscription: Concord Township, District No. 10, 1870, William Baldock, contractor, William Shutt, trustee. There were two rooms downstairs. For some reason unknown they discontinued the north room around 1878. After it was no longer used for school purposes it was used for band practice and storage. The first teacher in the new school house was a Mr. Marlow, as superintendent, Priscilla Coder, intermediate and Mrs. Daniels, primary. At this time it will be impossible to name the teachers as to the year, and the time taught, yet many are glad to see the name of their former teaches and we will be glad to include them. Principals: Marlow, Burrier, Herrick, Clark, Dexter Case, D. M. Allen, Frank Walters, Frank Scolds, Laura Shutt, D. A. Holmes, Irving Hadsal, A. C. Koeppe, Austen Eieholtz, A. C. Koeppe and O. K. Shull. Primary: Priscilla Coder, Lucinda Daniels, Mrs. Scott Herrick, Kate Blake, Mrs. Slater, Mrs. Robinson, Josie Thomas, Lena Olds-McClellan, Emma Tyndall, Estella Wanemaker, Mrs. Koeppe, Maude Murray, Mary Murray, Annis Warcup and Mrs. Eicholtz. O. K. Shull and Annis Warcup-Butler were the last to teach in the old building. By 1898 the old school building was declared unsafe and a new building erected under John W. Henderson, trustee. This building had four rooms and at the time considered a model school building. The attendance growing, new subjects added leading up to a three-year high school course in 1909. By 1885 there was a course of study established and pupils passing this grade were called County Graduates. Spencerville had the first class and held the first county commencement. Class of 1885: Laura Shutt, teacher; George Smith, Alda Shutt-Brent and Willis W. Carey. Note: I think it best not to give later degrees or girls married names, but name them as some may wonder who married who. Class of 1886: Louise Rummel-Beams, Arthur B. Olds, Frank E. Rhodes and Harry Keys. Class of 1887: Minnie Provines-Tyndall, Ivan Frybarger and Sarah Boger-Cook. Class of 1888: (seven girls) Flora Haifley-Means, Anna Gibbons, Jennie Blatz-Moffet, Gertrude Shutt-Carey, Hattie Grill-Kline, Mabell Murray-Erick, Jennie Shutt. Class of 1889: Ida Bertchfield and Ada Wise. For sometime there had been an agitation for a high school and where it should be in the township. This was solved by dividing the township through the center. The north half retained the name Concord and the south half Spencer, in honor of Col. John Spencer who died in 1840, a long deferred honor. One history says he founded the towns. A mistake, the town was founded by Ruben J. Dawson and named Spencerville in honor of his brother-in-law, Col. John Spencer. Will Erick, named trustee. In order to have a high school, a more commodious building was needed and Mr. Erick, trustee, petitioned the commissioners for the same and a tax levy to support the school. The new building was started in 1909, and completed in time for the 1910 class. A three-year class had been established and the first three-year class was as follows: 1908: Prof. Keating, superintendent; Miss O’Brian, principal; graduates—Grace Houck, Connie Davis, Bernice Boger-Rhodes, Ortt Wearley and Jessie Benjiman. 1909: Miss O’Brian, principal---Jennie Stewart-Walters, Clarence Steward, Lester Houck, Edd Carnes, May Dailey, Argyl Beams, Lizzie Pervines, Francis Butler-Chapman, Bessie Hart-Klopenstein and Murray Erick. 1910: Ortt Wearley, Principal---Robert Beams, Gladys Nelson, Pearl Pervines and Vera Silberg. 1911: First 4-yr. Class---Mrs. Eskelman, superintendent; Murray Erick, Merritt Maxwell, Gladys Kain, Francis Rhodebaugh, Clara Shull and Ida Reed. 1912: Mr. Slabaugh, superintendent---Alva Place, William Goings, Fred Steward, Earnest Steward, George Poince, Paul Currie, Charlotte Miller and Iva Zehner-Hollabough. 1913: Mr. Slabaugh, superintendent---Beeks Erick, George Hart, Ruth Essig, John House, Lelia Horn-Rosselott, Forest Kain, Maud Platter and Stanley Shutt. It will be notice that some names occur in both the three and four-year course. The three-years graduates were not accepted in college and many took their fourth year at Auburn, Butler, Hicksville and Harlan. The classes also have pupils from Concord township, who had started at Spencerville before the township was divided. The present high school faculty for 1950-51, is as follows: Mr. E. H. Paschen, Principal---Merritt Murphey, Ida Reed, Dale Wycoff, Mabel Zeigler, William Macklin, Agness Paschen, Bernice Wilder and Bina Glan. ATHLETICS--- Up to this time nothing has been said about athletics. While baseball and football were played in their season, they particularly like basketball and sought to prepare themselves for competition. First basketball team: Carlyle Smith, Lester Houck, Peter Steward, Roy Maurer, Harry Hursh, Don Burley, self coached. Basketball team 1909-1913: Lewis Treece, Cormie Kelley, Murray Erick, Ort Wearley, George Beams; Ort Wearly, coach. 1913-1916: John Beninghoff, Bud Beninghoff, George Hart, Cliford Van Zile, George Brown, Beek Erick, Stanley Shutt, Isaih Smith, self coached. 1919-1922: George Schlater, Eugene Baker, Ralph Baker, Cecil Hollepeter, Ray Zimmerman, Beek Erick, John Koch, Donald Kimes, Lee Hollepeter, manager. 1928: County Champions: Willard Chapman, Harold Furnish, Howard Beams, Virgil Loux, Ralph Beams, Henry Markle, Charles Whitter, coach. 1947: Sectional Champions: Lynn Lake, Raymond Hook, Paul Howe, Forest Resor, Glen Akey, Marion Baker, Harry Shoffel, Blain Kimes, Norman Ritenour, Dick Miller, Everett Paschen, coach. The 1946 game was dedicated to Marion Walter, who had been killed in a railroad accident. SMALL BUSINESS---Various people sold buggies, among them Barney & Erick, Jim Steward, Wall Fisher, Sim Maurer, and now Frank Silberg with the first Ford agency. He built the brick building on the west side of Main street in 1917, went into the fox business and lost it all. The next auto agency was that of Bob Beams with the Overland car. Our first gas station was opened by Beeks Erick on the Henry Markle lot. Later he sold this lease to the Shell Oil company who operated it through agents, the first being Ervin Venderly, later Joseph Baidinger and now operated by Victor Kelley. Roy Maurer had a gas station on the Emanuel lot sold to Paul Furnish who leased it to John Guff and William Sommers—not a success, it was closed. Maurer built another across the street on the Provines lot, later moved it north to his own lot and operates in connection with his grocery on Road One. Bowser and Reed bought the Provines store and operated a general store. After Bowser and Reed dissolved, James Reed built an auto repair shop and gas station, his health failing he sold to Douglas Poisel, the present owner. Our first picture gallery was in Asa Fletcher’s wood shed. I have tin type of Mr. Fletcher and one of Jeremiah Rhodes. There probably are others. After Aug Quinsy moved to St. Joe, Ben Zimmerman opened a gallery in the restaurant building conducting it for several years. There are many pictures of his making. Right here I would like to stress the importance of saving pictures of public buildings, churches and people active in the building up of the town. Just at present no pictures of the Old Methodist, the Old Lutheran or the old schoolhouse could be found. The ones in the history have been made up by an artist, familiar with the sort of work the old school house taken on glass, the plate broken. At one time a young man by the name of Houck had a gallery in the Henry Markle building, leaving, Charlie Chapman took over the business tired of the work and quit. CHURCHES---The ministers of pioneer days were known as circuit riders, ordained by the various churches, to bring the Gospel to these far away settlements. Many of these settlers, being devout Christians longed for the comfort and peace of mind their church had brought in their old home. These circuit riders traveled on foot, horse-back and by canoe. They held service in log cabins, barns and the woods. For entertainment they depended on the settler with which they stopped and in most cases was a welcome visitor, not only for the religious comfort he brought, but his news of the outside world. At times he was compelled to stop at notorious taverns, whose reputation had preceded them, but at no time were they molested, and no abuse of their calling allowed. These spirited instructors were a product of their time, when much noise, pounding of the Bible, preaching hell, fire and brimstone often was the subject to their sermon. The first preacher in Concord Township was Benj. Alton of Newville, a member of the disciple church. He evidently preached in the cabins as at this time there were no other places available. He conducted marriages, buried the dead and preached the gospel on Sunday. During the week he worked on his farm for a living. The camp meeting was the circuit rider’s opportunity. The first 2-day meeting was held at Orangeville by the Methodist church. Presumed in the grove along the river, the woods were favorable and the river, close by for baptism. The men who conducted this meeting were Elder Thomas of Newville and Joseph Miller of Ohio. At this time, there were no denominational tennets asserted, all prayed for forgiveness and protection from sin. Both preacher and supplicant, becoming loud and demonstrative as their conviction became personal, ending in complete happiness as evidenced by shouting. This particular demonstration was not confined to any one church but in evidence in all. In our local town the Methodists shouted in the Lutherans and the Lutherans in the Methodist which at least led to a brotherly and neighborly association of the two churches, which is present today, but seldom shouting. Revs. Coleman and Warren were the first circuit riders of the Spencerville Methodist Episcopal church, and in 1838 they organized several classes of which the Spencerville church was one and Perseverance, west of town another.
HISTORY OF THE METHODIST CHURCH
In the year 1840, Rev. Reed passed through as a missionary. He preached every four weeks at the home of John and Mary Rhodes. Their home was a log cabin and stood where Ray Zimmerman’s house now stand. The first church organization was organized in 1841 with eleven members as follows: John and Mary Rhodes, Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan Boyle, Mr. and Mrs. Hudnut, Mr. and Mrs. DeVilbiss, Mrs. Davis, Mrs. Wasson and Mrs. Elizabeth Rhodes. The first Methodist church was erected in the year 1850, a frame building, located where the Methodist church now stands. Active in its erection were Jacob Dills, Jonas Emanuel, David Buller, Henry Blake, William Henderson, John Moody, Alex DeVilbis, George Barney and others. By 1856 the church building was improved by the addition of the tower and installed a bell, calling the people to worship and a bearer of news in a way. When some one died, the bell was rung a short time and then struck for the number of years old. In case of a fire it was rung rapidly, warning the people to hurry. At the time of Lincoln’s death both church bells were rung alternately for 24 hours. The Spencerville church was in the Spencerville Circuit, Fort Wayne District, North Indiana Conference from 1850 to 1863. Following are ministers who served from 1840 to 1850, Reed, Smith, Skillman, Holdstalk, Wing, Gnarl and S. C. Cooper. 1850-51, R. S. Latta; 1852, A. Douglas; 1853-1854, D. B. Clary; 1855, J. Johnson; 1856, F. Howenstine; 1857, F. Howenstine; 1858, A. Andrew; 1859, A. Hollopeter; 1860, P. H. Hutchinson; 1861, G. H. Clark; 1862 C. W. Lynch; 1863, C. W. Lynch. Transferred to Leo Circuit in 1864. LEO CIRCUIT: 1864, J. W. Miller; 1865, J. W. Miller; 1866, I. Cooper; 1867, I. Cooper; 1868, D. Markley; 1869, Samuel Bacon; 1870, Samuel Bacon; 1871-72, N. F. Peddycord; 1873-74, W. H. Daniel; 1875, L. Roberts; 1876-77, J. M. Mann; 1878-79, I. M. Wolverton; 1880-82, J. A. Lewellen; 1883-85, J. H. Slack; 1886-89, A. H. Currie. Now known as the Spencerville Circuit. SPENCERVILLE CIRCUIT: 1890-92, J. J. Fred; 1893-95, unknown; 1895-97, E. M. Foster; 1898, W. L. Singer; 1899, E. H. Peters; 1900-02, O. S. Hart; 1903-06, G. H. Simons; 1907-08, C. B. Sweeney; 1909, D. A. Brown; 1910, Arthur Gordon; 1911-13, Chares A. Byrt; 1914, E. A. McClintock, 1915-16, J. C. Valentine; 1917, E. A. Emmons; 1918, Glen Bryan; 1919, E. E. Wright; 1920, E. L. Albright; 1921, H. A. Clugston; 1922-23, Fred Brewster; 1924-27, R. S. Brown; 1928-29, T. J. Cotton; 1930, Homer Studebaker; 1931-33, H. F. Brown; 1934, J. S. Newcomb; 1935, F. A. Ruder; 1936-40, L. E. Clayton; 1941-43, L. B. Sharp; 1944-45, Mason Buckner; 1946-49, D. R. Salisbury; 1950-51, E. J. Gilford. As time went on many improvements were added; the basement enlarged, modern kitchen, new windows and heating plant added and the interior newly decorated.
ST. PETER’S EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH
The organization of the church took place at the house of William Downs, in the month of October, 1849. Only nine persons joined the organization that day, as follows: John Leighty and wife, William Downs and wife, George Bittenger and wife, and Barbara Rummell. Rev. J. Carther was the pastor. He continued to preach for the organization for a while, after which Rev. Hoffman supplied them with preaching. About the first of the year, 1851, Rev. John Seidle became their regular pastor, and under his administration a goodly number were added to the church and a constitution was adopted, and the church regularly organized, according to the laws of the General Synod. The first officers under the constitution were Abraham Cope, Elder, and George Bittenger, Deacon. Rev. Seidle only preached about one year, when he died at his home in Albion, January, 1852. Thus the little organization was left pastorless for four months, when Rev. Wm. Waltman became pastor, and served them for a period of a little over seven years. On the 20th of May, 1853, the congregation met and decided to build a house of worship. Peter Bishop, Soloman Bowman and Andrew Horn were elected as building trustees. The contract for the work was let to Solomon Bowman and John A. Chillis, but before the house was completed Mr. Bowman died, and the work was completed by Mr. Chillis. This however was not accomplished until the summer of 1858. On September 26 the church was solemnly dedicated, the Synod of Northern Indiana being then in session in it. We notice by the old subscription list, that many of our fathers in the church, gave very liberally many making sacrifices. That they could have a church home for themselves and children. And they built wisely and well. For thirty years their work has remained to bless the entire community. Many hundreds of people have in it been taught the word, and more than six hundred people have been confirmed at the alters. Rev. Caskey succeeded Rev. Waltman, but only remained one years, when Rev. Waltman was recalled and remained three years, resigning Sept. 29, 1863. Rev. B. F. Hills became their next pastor and served the congregation a little over two years. October 11, 1865, Rev. C. Sink was elected pastor, and preached for three years, and was succeeded by Rev. Leathers who remained one year, and was succeeded by Rev. E. W. Erick, who continued his labors until February, 1879, being about 10 years. Rev. Kelso succeeded him as pastor, and remained about two years and a half, and was followed by Rev. E. K. Baker who served as pastor about four years, and was succeeded September 18, 1885, by Rev. S. P. Fryberger. Others who served were: J. S. Nelson, 1888-92; R. J. Thomas, 1892-95; W. C. Dunlap, 1895-99; W. H. Schrock, 1899-03; W. H. Habey, 1903-06; F. A. Dressel, 1906-09; Rev. Hitchner, 1910-12; D. P. Heltzel, 1913-15; A. K. Mumma, 1915-21; S. D. Steffey, 1922-24; P. B. Rodiger, 1926-27; G. D. Hall, 1929-31; A. Frabiaski, 1932-34; C. J. Ferster, 1935-37; F. L. Stevenson, 1938-48; W. M. Baker, the present pastor. Around 1916 the need for more and larger social rooms, with a kitchen, led to the enlargement of the basement under the direction of Rev. A. K. Mumma. This accomplished added efficiency to the convenience and social life of the church. As time went on, the necessity for redecoration was more apparent, if the church property was to be made fitting for the coming centennial celebration. After much prayer and consultation Rev. Frank Stevenson launched a program, the results of which are apparent in the physical appearance of the church today. Rev. Stevenson changing pastorates, Rev. Baker completed the effort and we have today the church building properly repaired, the interior newly decorated, a new altar and it accessories, a baptismal fount, new lighting and more comfortable seating. Most of which is due to the generous gift of Ort Wearley of Toledo and given in honor of his father and mother, Greely and Lizzie Wearley. Other memorials followed equal in spirit if not in substance at the centennial celebration. The centennial celebration of the church was held October 8, 1949. Rev. George D. Stoll, of Mechanicsburg, a former pastor of the church, was guest speaker. Honor was paid Mrs. Ella Dilley-Horn, the oldest member (86) present. The church stands today as a memorial to those who have passed on and a tribute to God who made all things possible. All of which was so beautifully portrayed by Mrs. Francis Doll. In the closing of the celebration. Mrs. Francis Doll’s words in closing the tribute are worth repeating: "Today we have weathered the storm of over 100 years and our present edifice stands as a gift of love and sacrifice from our forefathers. We have been on the mountain top, in the deep valleys and through it all God has been merciful to us and good. "The gospel is being preached, the rites of baptism and Holy Communion observed regularly, the youth instructed and the privilege of worship extend to all. What a wonderful heritage." The Rev. Enos Erick, born 1835, came to Indiana 1843, married Sara Hoffmeyer. Prepared himself for the preaching and entered the Methodist Episcopal Church, serving at Monroeville, Ind. Organized the Methodist Church at New Haven. At this time the country was disturbed over the slave question and Rev. Erick was not backward in voicing his opinion. This not meeting with the opinion of some of the leaders at that time, criticized by the bishop and advised to refrain from voicing his views. Feeling this was infringing on his own personal liberty he resigned. Organized a company, chiefly from his own members at Monroeville and Hoagland and served as chaplain. After the war, he again further prepared himself for the ministry by attending Wittenberg College and was ordained a Lutheran minister and returned to Monroeville by request. By 1869, he was at Spencerville, where he served faithfully and satisfactorily for 10 years. He served at White Pigeon, Middlebury, and Albion, retired for a few years and accepted the pastorate at Harlan. His health failing, he retired for good and died in 1917. His wife in 1916. Reverend Frank Stevenson coming much later had been instructed to introduce the beautiful liturgy of the common service to the Evangelical Lutheran Church, which prepares the listener to receive the word, by taking a personal part in the confession, reciting the creed and thus prepare themselves to received the word as the pastor delivers the message. Leading up to the benediction, and we depart feeling God is with us yet. The social life of the two churches has been very pleasant. The Methodists worshipping in the Lutheran and the Lutherans in the Methodist, both uniting for the common good of the community. A type of meeting already referred to as camp meeting was held annually across the river in the Lewis Lake wood lot at McCaulleys. People came from miles around, brought tents or slept in their wagons and the nights were filled with music and prayer and above all could be heard the voice of the preacher, inviting them to come and be saved. The highlight of the occasion was the feet washing and communion ending the meeting. The elders washed each others feet, after which the Christians in attendance washed theirs. Mrs. Cora Steward well remembers the details as she and her grandmother, Mrs. Kimes, cleansed the foot tubs and packed them away for another year. The organization has been disbanded. While there was no particular difference in the local meetings we did have some shouting but never came up to some of our neighbors. For instance, out west of town a new roof had just been completed and a typical revival meeting progress. One of the staunch members while praying implored the Lord to come down and punish the evil doers. To come right through the new roof and he would pay the damage. Just then lightning struck the church. He is said to have gone out of the window. I never heard if he paid for it or not. From the east comes this story. At a revival meeting held down around and south of Maysville, it was told how a woman was relieved of seven black devils before the whole congregation, they were said to look like black cats with horns, they already had tails. Not to be out done we must tell one on one of our own towns people who was wont to get excited and had many experiences. On hot summer day when cradling his wheat on his farm across the river, he stopped to rest and wipe the sweat from his brow, looked up and there was a vicious looking buck deer heading directly for him. Knowing he had no weapon of defense in the cradle, he braced himself, asked the Lord for help, grabbed the buck by the horns and backed him into a big snowdrift. Held him there until he died—believe it or not. There are people living today who have heard the story and it was told in all sincerity.
The first fraternal organization was the---ODD FELLOWS--- Spencerville Lodge of Odd Fellows was organized in 1873. Platt Wise was Grand Master. Charter members---David Butler, All C. Dawson, Chas. E. Mounsley, Solomon Barney and George Johnson. Meeting place was over Barney’s hardware. By 1881 the lodge was moved to St. Joe. MASONS---Concord Lodge NO. 556 F. and A. M. was organized in May of 1880. Charter members: George A. Bishop, Jacob D. Leighty, Job C. Smith, John M. Cahill, Thomas S. Murray, Henry Murray, George W. A. Smith, John Henderson, Loyd Houghton, and Sylvester Zimmerman. John M. Cahill, J. W. admitted shortly after the organization moved to Valparaiso. John W. Dills and Zack Keagy did not affiliate until after the organization. S. J. Zimmerman was raised February 7, 1880; John Henderson, February 28, 1880 and Loyd Houghton, April 24, 1880. Officers of Concord Lodge of F. and A. M. were as follows: George W. E. Smith, W.M.; Thomas S. Murray, S. W.; John M. Cahill, J. W.; Wm. Henderson, treasurer; Job C. Smith, secretary; George A. Bishop. S. D.; J. M. Murray, J.D.; Zack Keagy, Tyler. Present officers of No. 556, F. and A. M., are: W. M., Ray Means; William Wienger, secretary. ORDER OF EASTERN STAR---Order of Eastern Star, Chapter 385, was organized in February, 1913 with a large class of charter members, as follows: Mesdames Josephine Baltz, Mabel Murray Erick, Ethel Berry, Audrey Butler Wade, Golden Murray High, Princess Butler Rectenwald, Minnie Provines Tyndall, Winnie Murray Shook, Hattie Shutt Beams, Jennie Steward Walters, Alberta Zimmerman, Jane Boots Butler, Rose Wise Beams, Maud Culbertson Henderson, Ida Shutt Kelley, Permeta Paff Steward, Esther Baker Bowman. Present officers are Mrs. Joseph Baidinger, W.M.; Mrs. Edyth McGrath, secretary. Both lodges moved on uneventfully until New Years’ Eve 1950. The hall was destroyed by fire. Records and furnishings a total loss, some insurance. Meetings were held at Auburn, Butler and Leo and then in the recreation room of the first engine house. Beeks Erick donated a lot on Main Street just north of his home and a new building is in process of erection. This will be a walker-in basement with a hall for lodge meeting on the upper floor. The building is being financed and built by its local members. There is great hope of having it ready for dedication on January 1, 1952. The building committee consists of Al Ringenberg, chairman; Maurice Hollabaugh, Forest Bratten Glen Blondell, Claud Loub, Beeks Erick, Clifford Bellow, Amber Butler and Charles Butler. The first Masonic funeral was that of Samuel Henderson. The grandfather of Jacob Dills was a pallbearer at George Washington’s Masonic funeral. KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS---The knights of Pythias Lodge was instituted May 28, 1891, and dissolved in May, 1935. There was a large class of charter members as follow: Beek Erick, S. E. Van Fliet, J. W. Beams, Soll Barney, H. W. Burns, C. A. Rhoades, L. M. Steward, M. W. Bowman, S. M. Silberg, Eli Fales, Ben Wasson, L. M. Wilson, N. J. Shook, John Shilling, Wm. Scott, C. M. Silberg, Herman Grubb, W. C. Patterson, J. K. Stafford, J. C. Day, Frank Herrick, Wm. O. Lake, E. M. Chapman, J. N. Hursh, H. E. Shilling, Franklin Rhodes and J. M. Beams. The first met in the Provines Hall. By 1909, they joined Jack Beams in building the cement block store, corner of Auburn and Main Streets. There was also a lodge of the Macebees, which, while it was organized since 1908, no one seems to know much about it. As to when it was organized and who its officers were, I was unable to find out. The W. C. T. U. perfected an organization in January, 1891, meeting or organization in the Methodist church. The organization was conducted by Mrs. Kate Leighty of St. Joe. Mrs. Maggie Murray was elected president; Mrs. Carey Blatz, vice president; Mrs. Sam Shutt, secretary; Gertrude Shutt, treasurer. They met in the homes, conducted contests and taught the young in the abuse of alcohol, checked on the saloons to see that they operated according to law, and looked after the welfare of the town in general, conducting remonstances against granting of licenses and provided pleasing entertainment for the citizens at large. After World War II Spencerville sprang into a factory town. The Universal Tool and Stamping Co., was founded by Mr. Raymond B. Pratt, together with a group of businessmen of Fort Wayne. It manufactured bumper jacks and auto accessories and employed 75 people and is situated on Main street. The Like Harts Industry, situated on the river bank, was started in 1946 by John Like Hart and others. They make aluminum products and employ 20 people. The Partee Co., south of the railroad, was organized in 1846, and rebuild petroleum equipment and employ 31 people. The Partee Co., takes interest in the town and are active in its development. Paul F. Partee, president; Mrs. Ceclia Partee, vice president; Thomas Partee, treasurer, and Paul B. Partee, manager. All work and no play held for the early settler as of the man of today and they had their log rolling, as when they met to build a new cabin, followed by a big dinner of what ever was available at the time. Jokes played on each other, feats of skill, such as boxing, wrestling and shooting mark varied the dinner hour. Later the women had their quilting bees, rag sewing birthday parties and dances. The dances at this time were held out of doors and known as Bowery Dances. Few homes being large enough to entertain the party, the dance being in the open, led to various types in attendance and they became boisterous and many times ended in a fight. This led to the home party, with Molly Brooks, Old Dan Tucker and some times a square dance with Jim Boots as caller. Postoffice was a popular way of entertainment, guessing parties, and the box social. Sugar making or shuggaring off was a sweet affair and I well remember my old uncle telling how they knew the time by an Indian called Big John. They would see his smoke in the woods in the big bend and across from Silbergs. Where he came from and when he went no one seemed to know. It is presumed he came from what is or was known as Denmark, a river settlement some 60 miles north, known to have a few half breeds for many years and now hard to find, as their is no mark and no town. Up to as late as 1880, there was a crude hearth, said to have been used by him. The popular camps of the day were the Lewis Lakes, John Shutts, Darius Horn, Baltz Woods, Butler and Hendersons. The Henderson Camp, specializing in the chicken dinners, pulled off at sugaring off time. Mrs. Jack Henderson, noticing that some of her good layers had a tendency to disappear every year around that time, concluded to lock up her coop, just to be sure. One time she attended the party and while wandering around discovered some feathers and remarked that if she hadn’t locked that chicken coop herself, she would be awfully suspicious. The next morning, unlocking the coop, she found her prized red rooster gone and Bill was eating out. These sugaring off parties are only a memory but we still get good maple syrup. We had the singing school with Ben Zimmerman as instructor and writing school in which the wonderful Spencerian system was displayed along with birds of various types and which we were supposed to copy. No one would suspect that I attended, but I did, and among the mail I received from schoolmates of that day, I wonder if they did. Our spelling schools were generally well attended but we seldom won. Around 1883 or 84, Etta Boger, living with her grandfather, Jacob Baltz, won for several years. Sarah also qualified. Our local plays or shows as they called them at that time were at least entertaining. One comedy I remember with Vess Zimmerman as the Dutchman, was so well padded by his assistants, Lem Bair and Ham Emanuel that when he was hung as a pirate his clothing parted and the feathers flew, creating much excitement. Not all the local plays were comedies. We had dramas, such as "The Orphan," with Emma Allen as the orphan, supported by Ella Emanuel, Lena Olds and others as the years went on. One of the outstanding plays in the nineties was "Ten Nights in a Bar Room." It was held in the old Lutheran church after it had been vacated for the new one and the Rev. Nelson, feeling we all had committed the unpardoned sin, devoted a sermon to that effect, with the result that much controversy ensued. We also had the medicine shows, stock companies on the mill yard and in the alley between Silberg and Provines. One distinctly remembered was the Great Indian Chief Choco Taw, whose remedies would compare favorably with Ragatoll and Hadacol. Of the stock companies we had the "Black Diamond," "Uncle Tom’s Cabin," and "Sunshine and Shadow," with others of the same type. *** Our first big tent show according to Ezra Horn was held across the river from the dam, on account of the new bridge was not yet built and the old log bridge was not safe for such heavy wagons. He said the boys carried their girls across the river piggy back and there were some squealing. They had a parade and the first calliope to visit the town. This places the show around 1870. Around 1876, we had P. T. Barnum in the field below Jack Beams’ barn and across from Gifford’s. It was not only remembered for the parade with elephants marching, animals in cages drawn by horses, wonderful ladies riding bare-back and numerous clowns, together with the big tent show and various side shows, and all the fakers usually found at such times. Among them were ones who operated the old shell game, using a small Bible. This he felt would be more appealing to the local sightseer. Cora Steward tells how her grandfather, George Kimes, fell for it. Seeing that he used the Holy Bible for the disappearing object, he felt it could not be sin to take a chance and was more liberal in his bets. He won the first dollar and lost the next five, and the wrath of her grandmother was well founded. The Fore Paw show was the last big one. I know I gained a 50c admission ticket by getting up early and assisting a showman gather up bread that had been engaged the night before. This was also a wonderful show, parade, animals in cages, ladies on horse back and a large calliope decorated by figures blowing trumps, and organ with a man playing the typical show music of the day. Many rural shows came to town, the Houghton Dog and Pony show being one of the best and watched for annually. It is said that when the show traveled by wagons, they broke up and sent out smaller tents dividing the attractions and animal exhibits and showed in the small towns. The caravan was not able to travel more than 40 miles a day and being between the route from Toledo to Fort Wayne we benefited by it. Spencerville had an unusual connection with the P. T. Barnum show, in that Mrs. Romeo Catlin was the first cousin of P. T. Barnum. Another was that Mr. Kraft’s mother and Mrs. Hamilton Emanuel’s mother were cousins of the fat lady of the Barnum side show. The Kraft family history says, she weighed over 700 pounds, married the skelton man and he got so fat he lost his job, and they retired living in New York City. When she died they had to build a special coffin and take the corpse out the window with block and tackle. Not all were the entertainment type. We had lectures on various topics of the day. Talks on astronomy, with the picture of the stars, showing their positions at various times of the year, and from which our lives are regulated. Talks on phrenology with a bust showing the different locations of the bumps regulating our character. Choosing some one from the audience they would proceed to feel his bumps and interpret their significance. Some time to the embarrassment of the subject. Another man, known as the Rev. Lewis Hickman, lectured on millarism, illustrating his lectures with a large map showing a huge dragon, as he was suppose to have appeared to St. John. It showed 10 horns, representing the 10 tribes of Jews, the 10 tails representing their end. Together with a beautiful woman standing on the moon clothed by the sun and her head crowned with stars, also Michael and his angels the devil ready for combat, and from which he predicted the end of the world. Seemingly he was a little premature. Also around this time much controversy was heard over the horrors of Masonry, leading to disputes and much antagonism by some churches. One man was flagrantly abusive and creating much diverse opinions in families, so a band of young men, disguised as Indians made so much noise and seemingly ready to tar and feather, him, he became frightened and ran to the home of a friend, losing his silk hat on the way. This same hat is said to be the prized treasure of a certain lodge on the river, but not confirmed. We had lyceums or debating societies, magic lantern shows, minstrels, black and white; magicians, church fairs and one time in the seventies the county fair was held on the log yard. We find but little about it an as it never came back it was probably not a success. Decoration Day in the late seventies and eighties was some celebration. The first big day was due to the efforts of Mrs. Lucius Barney, her husband, a Civil War veteran, did in 1869. At this time she and her son, Lucius, were living with his grandfather, George Barney. The parade was made up of small girls dressed in white with colored sashes, red for the living and blue for the dead. The blue represented the heavens, where all good soldiers go. They carried flowers and marched with the soldiers to the cemetery, where there was singing, a prayer and an address by some prominent man. I well remember one, a more elaborate affair, with a tall white monument, made from wood and covered with white muslin. On each corner a young girl, typifying the North, South, East and West, paying homage to the honored dead, holding a wreath that encircled the monument. Others followed, another was a float with Blanch Nichols, representing liberty, got wet. As time went on, the enthusiasm seemed to dwindle out and it was turned over to the G. A. R. A few of the widows of soldiers gathered flowers, made bouquets and the G. A. R. placed them,. Now it’s up to the America Legion who do their duty so early in the morning that no one except Mintie Furnish who lives practically on the ground is able to attend. Nevertheless I am glad to state that every known grave will have flowers along with the flags before the day is over. Right here is a good place for taps. "Soldier, good night. West thou go, when the day and the night need thee so. All is well, speedeth all to their rest. Fades the light and afar goeth the day, and the stars shineth bright. Fare-the-well. Day has gone. Night is on. Goodnight." Fourth of July celebrations have been carried on for years until competition and the auto made it more entertaining elsewhere. They were generally waved in by the firing of a salute using two rifles in the absence of a cannon. Shooting mark, weight lifting, wrestling, foot races, horse races and a speech, together with a parade took up the day. Band concert at night and fireworks with a bowery dance at night. Notwithstanding, attendance began to lag, as the auto carried the visitors to a more varied and probably diversified entertainment elsewhere. So our younger men got together and planned a fourth of August celebration. The streets were decorated, the stores offered bargains, and a band was engaged. All the old entertainment were brought in, foot races, running races, boys and girls races, the exciting tub and swimming races on the river, climbing the greased pole for the dollar, catching the greased pig for the pig, catching a goose by the head on horse back and numerous other feats with a fantastic parade and the presence of merry-go-rounds, trap shooting, ring throwing for prizes, more band music and at night a band concert and dance with fireworks, did the trick and was repeated for several years in succession. Finally interest lagged and the celebration was not repeated. The church social, band concerts, strawberry and ice cream festivals also came to an end, together with wonderful Sunday school picnics of an early day. These picnics were long remembered and were attended by Sunday schools coming in covered wagons for long distances. Led by a Marshal with a red sash on horseback and oft times proceed with a band. Some times in absence of a band, they came in singing. The highlight of the day was the big dinner and the opportunity for visiting, together with a speech and children speaking. The favorite picnic ground was the Baltz woods, with Henderson later. Our last big celebration was our centennial which was celebrated in 1928. It seems that the people of Spencerville had but little to do with the arrangement and were unaware to such a celebration until notified and asked to serve on committees and prepare the grounds and town for the celebration. The men on the committees were as follows: Will Eric, Walter Bake, Clyde Hart and John Koch. The program was as follows: Forenoon assembly on lawn and band concert. Opening remarks by Dr. Shoemaker of Butler, president of the DeKalb County Historical Society; music by the band; march to the grist mill where John Zimmerman of Auburn, grandson of the John Zimmerman who helped build the mill and lived for a short time in the towns, gave a talk. He said he had been drafted by Mr. Clarence Green, county superintendent of DeKalb county schools. Mr. Zimmerman said his grandfather came to Indiana in 1844 and settled in the wilderness, about two miles west of the town. Assisted in building of the mill in 1844 and ’45 and by 1861 was running the mill together with Henry Murray. His grandfather becoming ill, his father, Elias Zimmerman, moved to Spencerville from Leo and operated the mill until the death of the grandfather in 1876, settled the estate and moved to Auburn. He remembers of living in town, heard and saw his first calliope and saw his first bear. Probably the P. T. Barnum show. Following the address, the band led them back to the church lawn for the dedication service. Dr. Shoemaker after a few words in which he stressed the necessity of placing markers at various points of historical value in order that posterity, in time to come, could look back an say this is where the old church stood, here the grist mill and here the bridge where we crossed the river, etc. Dr. Shoemaker, presented Dr. Christopher B. Coleman, president of Indiana State Historical Society who spoke in part as follows: He spoke on the importance of preserving accounts of historical events found in newspapers, magazines and histories. Pictures of people active in building up the community, old school houses, churches and bridges. He said the first white men to visit a country were usually hunters. They owned no land, paid no taxes and were of but little influence in building up or developing a country, but these men were followed by the home seeker and for such we are here to dedicate this marker in their memory and, proceeded to dedicate the monument with the following inscription.
First Settlement in DeKalb County
Held under the auspices of the DeKalb County Historical Society. The company adjourned for dinner in the church basement after which the afternoon program with a band concert, choral singing, followed by Mrs. Nancy Chaney, reading a paper on the history of Spencerville. More music and an address by Ross Lockridge, professor of history at Indiana State University, who spoke on the George Rogers Clark and the centennial at Vincennes, followed by a Boy Scout demonstration by Boy Scouts from Garrett. A ball game was played at the school house. The visitors were advised to visit the various places of interest, make new and renew old acquaintances and to return for lunch at the church basement. The evening entertainment was a full as the day, band music, singing and a pageant. Indian life by Claud Laub; early explorers, Walter Baker, and Walter Tyndall; Indian camp scene, smoking the peace pipe, patriotic dance by Berniece Wilder; boys of ’76, Ray Farver; John Appleseed, William O. Lake, Ott Ginther as Abe Lincoln, and arrival of early settlers, as a parade. Scouts on foot and horseback, families in covered wagons, boy and girls driving cows and pigs, together with old farming tools on floats, old buggies, wagons, bicycles and the Boy Scouts. During which time there was and Indian attack and a young girl was carried off as captive. Between acts was a flower drill by Mrs. Audrey Butler and Mrs. Princess Rectenwald. An early folk dance by Garnett Beams class and talks by some of those in attendance, among which was Jim McKinley’s talk on courting days, ending with one of his favorite jigs. The Boys of 1817 and Westward Ho. Drill Squad of the Auburn American Legion and a street dance finished the day. The parade came in here some where, but the program I have doesn’t state when. It was led by the St. Joe and Spencerville bands and marched from the mill sight up to Main Street, north to Washington, east to Water Street and disbanded. First came Indians, followed by the new settlers on foot and in covered wagons. The settlers carried guns for protection. The first wagon was of the congestoga type, and was driven to Spencerville by George Houck, in 1853. Will Moore represented the settler and Mrs. Winnie Shook the mother, together with children, all in the costume of the day. The wagon was loaded with spinning wheel, an old chest and various articles such as an early settler would bring. Another covered wagon followed, driven by John Koch with a cow tied behind. Johnny Appleseed walked along reading his Bible and scattering apple seeds. The boys of ’76,’61and ’17, together with all others in the program, ending in an Indian attack in which the parade broke up. Tired but satisfied that they had shown due honor to their forebearers. The need for a public place to conduct entertainment, lectures, tent meeting etc., had been long contemplated and by 1917 had taken action in that Henry Beams bought the corner lot once occupied by the Emanuel barn, a stock company organized and a hall with basement built and completed by 1920. The basement was used for basketball and the hall for public gatherings. The depression that followed World War I caused many to be delinquent in paying off their stock and the hall was sold to the school board, Frank Rhodes, the trustee, getting the stockholders to donate their holdings and the township bought the building for school purposes. It now serves as a school gymnasium, basketball hall and is still available for lectures, socials and public dinners. The need for a fire department had been demonstrated many times and after the Doyle Fisher fire a new movement was started and a fund started that let to the purchase of a fire engine and water truck, A small fire house was built on the Provines lot facing the side street, two stories high, the lower being the fire house and the upper a club room for the benefit of the firemen. The funds were raised by donations, fish fries and auction sales. Beeks Erick was elected president; Morris Hollabaugh, vice president and fire chief, Glen Blondell, secretary and treasurer, and all active men volunteered as firemen. At present the upper story is used by the Free Masons as a temporary lodge while their new hall is being constructed. *** OUR DESTRUCTIVE FIRES WERE AS FOLLOWS: 1878---The Bowman saw mill across from the school house and owned by Hiram Wilson and George Bittinger. A complete loss. 1883---The George Kimes barn across the river in which Mr. Kimes nearly suffocated while rescuing his horses. 1892---The Provines barn. 1911---The old furniture store, owned at that time by Raymond Bowser and Connie Davis. A new stock of farming implements and a line of hardware. 1938---All the buildings on the west side of the block, the two Beams stores, a small building used as a restaurant, the barber shop and Jack Beams hardware and K. of P. cement block store. 1945---Doyle Fisher’s stock of groceries in the John Provines building. 1949---On New Year’s Eve the old Bishop store owned by Will Erick and the Mason’s, containing the Virgil Kimes grocery and dry goods, mostly a new stock, together with a building and contents owned by the Universal Tool and Die Company, was a complete loss and did much damage to the postoffice building. ACCIDENTS---Our first accident was the death of Mrs. Peas, who was struck by lightning while standing in her cabin door in 1833. Mrs. George Smith burned to death by her quilted skirt sweeping the hearth of an old fashioned cooking stove in 1888. Miss Lydia Case in 1892 burned and died from blood poisoning due to burns. Mrs. Thatcher, a cousin of the Murray boys, got her clothing caught in the grist mill and died from injuries. Edd Corwin and Abe Quinsy drowned while trying to ride over the dam in high water around 1878. Will Zimmerman and Henry Keesler, epileptics, fell and drowned by the road side. Dee Erick, while driving a mowing machine, the horses became frightened, ran away and he fell in the machinery and was killed. Frank Horn’s horse ran off the levee one night, the buggy upset and the baby killed. George Larimore shot himself in the Dawson house around 1858. Bill Lucas hung himself due to despondency and poor health in 1920. Mr. Kraft fell from a gravel digger, entangled in the ropes and drowned in the gravel pit. The Farmers and Merchants Bank was organized in1914, with Frank Rhodes, president; L. B. Fisher, vice president; A. H. Peters, Sam High and Frank Silberg, directors; Clyde Rectenwald, cashier. Capital stock was $25,000 and increased to $50,000 by 1920. It was seemingly operating satisfactorily until one morning in September of 1950, the state inspector dropped in and closed the doors for the misapplication of funds. The bank was insured, no one lost any money. *** EARLY EVENTS---In the fall of 1834, Nelson Ulm and Sam Wasson drove over land three cows and eight pigs from Fort Wayne to Spencerville. One cow was for David Butler and two for David Rhodes. The hogs were for both. Imagine the difficulty they must have met driving the animals through the brush and over the Indian trail as there were no roads at that time. In May, 1836, Samuel Widney coming from Pennsylvania joined John P. Widney at Fort Wayne and came up the St. Joe river and settled in Concord township. The party divided, some coming on horseback and others in the big pirogue that Judge Walden and Thomas Gorrell had brought down for supplies. All went well until they reached the ripple opposite the Butler cabin, when the boat upset, throwing the passengers and goods into the river. As the water was only waist deep for a man no one was drowned. The water being swift, much of the goods was carried some distance, among them a small trunk with $800 in bills. After some searching, the trunk was found a half mile below and recovered intact but wet. The family and contents were taken in by the Butlers and the bills were spread on the floor to dry. It is said that David Butler said when he woke up he thought he must be in heaven and the good Lord had run out of gold and was using green backs. Believe it or not. At this early date it was not unusual for men congregating together to engage in wrestling, boxing etc. At one time in the Murray mill yard Sam Wasson having just brought in a load of logs, was cracking his ox whip around, when Ruben J. Dawson being present, made the following proposition: Sam let me take that whip and give you three cuts, then you can give me three cuts. Sam always willing to take a dare, accepted, Dawson, after swinging the whip several times, struck him twice and stopped, saying he would take his third turn later. This led to a lot of criticism in that a man of his caliber. Judge of the district court would stoop as low as to play such a trick on a old time friend. This went on and the judge was oft time twitted about when he was going to give Sam the last cut. Dawson died and Sam forgave and forgot, showing a noble character under the apparent rough surface. One more early event is worth recording and has to do with a Mr. Osborn and his trip to a mill at Fort Wayne in the winter of 1837. He started from Hicksville with his ox team to go to mill. For some reason unknown he came west to the St. Joe river, expecting to find better roads and perhaps companionship on the way. Any how he reached the town, secured his provision and returned on the east side of the St. Joe river. About opposite Leo; night came on and the snow and icy water so slowed up his progress, he feared he would freeze. He unhitched his oxen and abandoned his sled. Wading through icy creeks, pushing through the snow, he pressed on, finally becoming so exhausted he crawled on the ground many miles, not daring to stop for fear of freezing and trying to reach the Brant place across from Spencerville. Not daring to give up. He started to call for help and the Brant dogs heard him and made such a fuss that they went out to investigate. It is said they didn’t hear the cries but the dogs bounded off and made such a fuss they followed them to where he lay exhausted in the snow. Not being able to walk, he crawled and rolled in the snow toward where he knew there was help, the Brants took him to their home an after a couple of weeks, then his home in Hicksville, carrying him on a sled. This was in 1837, the Brants and Carmel Road both lived on this farm across the river and owned at that time by John Dawson. Earlier then this he speaks of his farm at Spencerville and that he found two families living on it. John Dawson, himself, never lived there and had bought the place for speculation. In 1834 Sam Wasson and Nelson Ulm went down the river for provisions, returning, winter had set in and they had to pull themselves by the over hanging branches and push the boat with long poles. It was so cold they had hard work to keep their hands from freezing and the trip back took a week. Another event worth recording was the Barney robbery in 1878. The Barney boys bought wool and in those days there was no bank and as the farmers wanted real money, they were forced to keep a large sum of money on hand to meet the demand. Mr. Barney went to Auburn, drew out the money and kept it in his home. That night he brought the money home and placed it around in his bedroom, instead of leaving it in the store safe. During the night the house was entered by two men. One held a gun over Beeks Erick, the clerk who slept off the dining room and the other proceeded into the living room upon which Mr. Barney’s bedroom opened. Made some demand and shot off his revolver. Mr. Barney jumped out of bed, grabbed his gun and prepared to defend himself, Mrs. Barney picked up a small caliber revolver and followed him out of the room and standing in the doorway took aim, fires and hit him. It seems his gun had jammed and he went out to a lighter room to fix it, when she caught him. He said, come on, I am shot and they left escaping with the Emanuel’s horse and carriage. Everything was so well executed that they knew some one who was familiar had planned it and settled on a man who had been around for some time with the seemingly business of selling apple trees, but who had moved on a short time before. It finally worked out that they were a gang from around Bryan and later the men were caught and one sentenced to prison. The town of Bryan presented Mrs. Barney with a silver plated revolver as evidence of their gratitude in helping to rid the community of these desperadoes. This was our one and last big robbery. There were several others but no large amount of money was ever taken. At one time they blew the door off the safe and jammed the lock on the safe in Carey and Bowman’s drug store. Entering the store one early morning for something needed for an emergency call, I failed to find the lamp where it was always left for such purposes, went around the counted for a light and saw the money drawer broken down. That was it and I ran to John Provines and called him, scared to death. John said, hell, Doc, they are not there now and they were not, and the only thing missing was some cigars, a few pieces of money Frank was saving as a coin collector. I’ll say this, it made a lasting impression and I am still leary of entering dark buildings at night. In 1933 Beams Bros. Safe was blown and they got over $500. They carried insurance. Barney’s store and the Bishop store were robbed from time to time, but with no great loss, as was the drug store. ***THE PHYSICIANS---Early settlements were handicapped for the lack of medical service and the settlers had to depend on their own ingenuity and common sense. The prevailing sickness was chills and fever, broken bones were set by his neighbor and child birth attended by some granny, and oft times by the husband himself. Chills and fever were treated by quinine when available and more often by infusions made from various roots and drinking enormous quantities. Snake wood, worm wood and bitter sweet among the most popular. For abdomenal pain, smart wood tea and hot poultices over the seat of pain and laudanum for the more severe cases. Tonics were made for gentian, dandelion and sweet briar roosts and many others. For rheumatism, the application of various liniments of unknown substances, the preference give to rattlesnake oil. A buckeye was carried in the pocket. Copper bands worn on the wrist or leg and later electric belts warranted to cure and restore lost vitality. For colds in children, goose greese inside and out; for the elders, rock and rye, which is still popular. Amber beads were worn around the neck for goiter and measuring for short growth. The following recipe is taken from a popular doctor book of that day. Take a handful of red cherry, yellow poplar and sassafras bark, boil in two quarts of water until it measures 1 pint, add 1 gallon of hard cider and take a table spoon full, 3 times a day. The bark to be gathered in the spring and peeled upward. The doctor was more likely to be a younger man just starting and willing to accept the hardships necessary in the practice of medicine. Older men, more properly prepared, sought larger fields, or generally given to drink or misfits in society. The preparation for the study of medicine was quite different from that of today. A young man desirous of being a doctor, selected some busy practitioner in a larger community and was said to read medicines under him. He accompanied him on his visits, assisted in the preparation of his medicines, learned their usage and proper doses. The doctor assigning him different subjects in medicine, anatomy and theraputics and later quizzing him on the subjects. Some would attend a short course of lectures and then announce themselves as doctors. After practicing a few years and earning a little money, they would return and complete their education and receive a diploma. Such was the preparation for the average county doctor. Saddlebags were out by my time but I can remember when the doctor came with a bag full of various remedied, how he would pull out one, look wise, put it back and select another; if a liquid, drop a few drops in a glass of water and say take a teaspoonful every three hours. If a powder, he would pour out a pile, take his tobacco stained knife, divide it up into the proper dose and my mother made wafers with flat iron and I had to take it. Well, I am still here so we evidently got well, if we didn’t have the latest vitamins. Dr. Jonas Emanuel was our first doctor. He came from Ohio, where he had read medicine under Dr. Mac Gorough of Chillicothe, and attended one term lectures and came to Spencerville in 1843, returned the following spring and brought his family out. He first served the community on horseback, which was at that time as financially necessary and the incapability to get anywhere without a horse. There were no roads, no bridges and no mode of communication. He had bells on this horse, so that the settler would hear him coming. They also had a system of signs to let him know the doctor was wanted if passing by. He served conscientiously the well to do and the poor, never being known to turn any one away or refuse service to the needy. He retired in the late eighties and died in 1891. Dr. Steven Morris was the next physician. Where he came from and the exact date of his arrival we were unable to determine. He was a lot owner in 1847 and married Rossy Ann Catlin in 1849. It is supposed he was a relative of Judge John Morris of Auburn and later of Fort Wayne. His name is quoted in the commissioners’ records as a physician to the poor, was said to be well educate and enjoyed the respect and confidence of his associates. He has two children buried in the cemetery. They sold their home to George Barney in 1874, and evidently left for parts unknown. Dr. George Murphy was our next resident doctor. He was born in Ohio and came to Indiana in 1874, and lived with his mother at Huntertown. Later the family moved to Leo. He attended high school at Fort Wayne and commenced his medical career by reading medicine with Dr. Gerry Whielock. Needing to finance his own resources, he taught school for several years, and served three years in the Civil War. He attended one term of lectures at the Charity Medical Hospital College in Cleveland, Ohio in 1870. He returned to Leo and practiced two years and then returned to Charity Hospital and graduated in medicine in 1872. Charity Hospital Medical School is now a part of the Western Reserve University. By 1875 he had taken a course in surgery at Jefferson Medical School in Philadelphia and returned to his practice in Leo. By 1879, he was in Spencerville, where he carried on a successful practice until 1889, when he returned to Leo. He carried on a consulting practice with offices in Spencerville, St. Joe and Waterloo, up to the time of his death in 1904. Dr. Jacob Hull was the next physician to serve the community. He probably came in 1870, married Miss Mary Jane Wyatt in 1871. He attended the public school of Coshocton county, Ohio, and Howard Academy in preparation for medical school. He graduated from the Eclectic Medical College in 1866 and came to Indiana in 1870. In 1876 he again attended lectures and graduated from the Bennett Medical School. He returned to Spencerville where he continued his practice up to around 1890, when he moved to Hicksville, where he was active up to the time of his death in 1911. Dr. Loyd Houghton was the next physician. A native of New York state and a graduate of the medical department of the University of Buffalo in 1865, he came to Spencerville in 1870 an continued in practice until 1886, when he went to Tennessee for this health. Not faring so well, he returned to Spencerville and resumed his practice, moving to Huntertown in 1895, continuing in practice up to the time of his death in 1914. Probably at this time it would be well to introduce or make mention of other early physicians. Who served for short periods of time. A Dr. Meyers is mentioned in Mrs. Chaney’s papers and on the commissioners’ records we find a Dr. Goodale in 1841; Dr. Hathaway in 1848, and Dr. Clayton in 1856. Dr. Larmore was a popular man in the sixties and perhaps others of whom we find no record. Dr. Nelson J. Shook, our next regular physician, was born and reared in the northern part of the county. Attended high school at Auburn and prepared for medicine at Tri-State College at Angola. He entered Miami Medical College at Cincinnati, and graduated in 1890. He conducted a general practice, with an office for part time at Grabill, until 1897, when he moved to Kendallville. For a short time he continued his profession, retiring on account of his health and died in 1941. Dr. Willis W. Carey, author of the local history, was the next resident. He was one of the first class to graduate from the county schools. He taught school and prepared himself for medicine by reading medicine with Dr. H. W. Bowman of St. Joe. He attended the Methodist College at Fort Wayne and Valparaiso Normal School. Entered the medical department of Western Reserve University and graduated in 1895. He first settled in Auburn and in the following spring moved to Spencerville, where he continued a general practice until 1904 when he moved to Fort Wayne. He served three years in World War I, returned and opened a physo therapy department for the treatment of nervous and mental diseases in connection with the Lutheran Hospital. He married Gertrude Shutt and one son, George Fletcher, was born in Spencerville. He retired in 1947 and lives in Fort Wayne. Mrs. Carey died in 1944. Dr. Benj. O. Shook, also a DeKalb county boy, prepared himself for medicine by teaching, and attended Auburn high school and Tri-State College at Angola. Graduated from the medical department of Miami at Cincinnati in 1902. Dr. Shook conducted a general practice. In 1911, owing to over work, he was compelled to take a rest at Saranac, New York. After a year he returned and continued his practice until his death in 1944. Dr. John W. Moore was another county boy who started out in practice at Spencerville. He attended Auburn high school, Tri-State College at Angola and graduated from the Fort Wayne Medical College in 1894. At this time the medical college was a part of Taylor University. He had his office in the Silberg building and later a more favorable opportunity opened at Albion. Moving there he has continued for some 50 years in practice, lately retiring, living part time in Florida. ***
Dr. Sam Kimes, another local boy, received his education at the Spencerville public school and prepared himself for medicine at Valparaiso Normal School. Entered the medical department of Indiana State University, graduated 1908, and opened an office in the Henry Markle building. On account of his health, he was physically handicapped for general work but maintained an office practice, up to the time of his death in 1916. Dr. John Charles Emmie, another county boy, attended Auburn high school and Tri-State College at Angola. Entered the medical department of Indiana State University and graduated in 1912. Served internship in the Hope Hospital and came to Spencerville in 1913. Due to over work, he suffered a break down and spent a year in Texas. Returning, he continued to practice in Spencerville and lived in Harlan, practicing in both towns, until his death in 1940. During this time there has been several men who practice for shorter periods. Dr. Edward T. Edwards graduated for the medical department of Indiana State University in 1910. He was licensed to practice in Marion county and came to Spencerville in 1912. Entering World War I in 1917. On his return he moved to Vincennes where he had financial interest that demanded his attention. He soon retired from active practice and died in 1950. Dr. J. Wiley Thimler, resident doctor for the care of Dr. Ben Shook’s patients while away on a rest cure. Dr. Thimler was a graduate of the Chicago Medical College in 1911. After Dr. Shooks returned, he opened an office in Fort Wayne, where he still conducts a successful practice. The following men spent their boyhood in Spencerville, or it immediate vicinity, attended the public schools and further improved themselves by taking up the profession of their choice. Among these we known the following: Thomas Jackson Dills, born in Spencerville, in 1847, son of Jacob and Christina Dawson-Dills, attended the public school and Oberlin College. He taught school and read medicine under Dr. William D. Meyers at Fort Wayne. Entered the medical department of the University of Michigan and graduated in 1871. He first settled in Avilla but soon moved to Fort Wayne. Did post graduate work at Belviere and in 1875 went to New York and studied diseases of the eye and ear. Later attended clinics in Europe to further improve himself in his profession. Held a professorship in the Fort Wayne Medical College and commanded the respect and confidence of his associates all over northeastern Indiana. He died in 1899. Dr. Allen DeVilbis, born in 1841, came with his parents to Spencerville in 1843. Attended the public schools, Newville Academy, taught school, took a year at Ann Arbor and read medicine. Graduated from the Miami Medical School in 1868, settled at Middleton, practiced in New Haven and moved to Fort Wayne in 1883. He took up the study of eye, ear, nose and throat and being of a mechanical turn, invented several types of applicators for the treatment of the same. Moved to Toledo in 1887, where he manufactured the articles on a large scale. He also invented numerous other surgical instruments. None became so popular and widely distributed as this atomizer. He died in 1917. Dr. Hiram W. Bowman, son of Solomon and Rebecca Jones-Bowman was born in Ashland County, Ohio in 1849. Came with his parents to Spencerville in 1852. The family moving in the traditional covered wagon. His mother often told how she rode horseback and carried him in her arms. Attended the public school. Prepared himself for teaching by attending the Presbyterian Academy at Ashland. Taught school and further prepared himself for the study of medicine by attending Delaware College. Returned to Spencerville and read medicine with Dr. George Murphy. Entered the medical department of Wooster University at Cleveland and graduated in 1874. Due to a merger of the Cleveland Medical Schools, now known as the Medical Department of the Western Reserve University. Located at Newville, took a post graduate course at Jefferson College in Philadelphia and two years later, a course at Belleview Medical College in New York. On his return, he located in St. Joe and Spencerville as a general practitioner up to the time of his death in 1914. Dr. J. Scuder Hull, born in Spencerville in 1873, son of Dr. Jacob Hull and Mary Jane Wyatt- Hull, attended the public school until his father moved to Hicksville, Ohio in 1890. Graduated from the Hicksville high school in 1892. Read medicine with his father and graduated from the medical school in Cincinnati in 1905. Returned to Hicksville and was associated in practice with his father. After his father’s death in 1911, he continued in practice until his death in 1950. Dr. Argyl Beams, born in Spencerville in 1891, graduated from Spencerville high school, 1909, a three year course. Finished high school at Butler in 1910. Attended Valparaiso normal school and taught school at Leo. Entered Wittenberg College and graduated from the pre-medical course in 1912 with a degree of Bachelor of Arts. Entered the Western Reserve University and graduated from the medical department in 1919. Interned a Lakeside Hospital and was elected to a professorship in 1947. Dr. Beams specializes in gastro intestinal diseases. He lived in Cleveland. Dr. Andrew Robert Wyatt attended the Spencerville grade school, attended Fort Wayne Methodist College in preparation for the study of medicine and read with Dr. Jacob Hull. Attended Indiana State Medical School and graduated in 1882. Started in Spencerville, moved to Cedarville, later to LaGrange and to Fort Wayne in 1920. He died in 1940. Dr. Jonas Emanuel, not only contributed his life work to the practice of medicine, but also educated three sons for the profession. Dr. Appelos, the older son, was born in 1844, reared in Spencerville, attended the public schools, prepared himself for medicine by attending the Newville Academy and read medicine with his father. Graduated from Ann Arbor in 1866, and located in Antwerp. Had two daughters, Clara and Julia. Julia, a prominent pharmacist is located in Fort Wayne. Dr. Appelos died in 1876. Dr. Hamilton Emanuel, son of Dr. Jonas Emanuel and Laura Coburn-Emanuel, was born in 1857. Attended the public school, Newville Academy and read medicine with his father. Graduated from the Fort Wayne Medical College in 1880. Married Ida Crouse of Ossian. Located in Millroy, North Dakota, continued in practice until his death in 1936. He had two boys, both doctors, and a girl. Henry is a consulting specialist in nervous disease of Stamford, Connecticut, and Victor Worth, in practice at Valley City, North Dakota. Dr. Gerry Emanuel, the youngest son of Dr. Emanuel, was born in 1863. Attended the public schools, Fort Wayne Methodist College and read medicine under is father. Graduated from Rush Medical College in 1883, at that time the youngest man to have graduated at Rush College. He served an internship at St. Joe Hospital in Fort Wayne, returned to Spencerville and practiced with his father. Moved to Edgerton, Ohio, in 1892, where he conducted a general practice up to the time of his death in 1931. Married Vera Webster and moved to Edgerton in 1892. They had one son, George. Dr. George Grant Smith, son of G. A. G. Smith, was born in 1867 in Ohio. Came with his parents to Indiana. Attended the public schools, was a member of the first county graduating class in 1885. Attended the Auburn normal and taught school. Entered the Indiana State University and graduated with an A. B. in 1906. Entered the medical department at Western Reserve University and graduated in medicine in 1912. Located in Parkman, Ohio, married, and died in 1930. Dr. Hubert M. Shook, son of Dr. B. O. Shook and Winnie Murray-Shook was born in Spencerville in 1895. Graduated form Spencerville high school in 1914, attended Wittenberg College graduating in 1917 with an A. B. Studied medicine at the University of Cincinnati, graduated in medicine in 1921. Lecturer and now a professor of internal medicine, specializing in cardeology. Director of the Ohio National Life Insurance Company, and lives in Cincinnati. Dr. Wayne LeRoy Shook, grandson of Dr. B. O. Shook, born 1920. Attended Spencerville public school. Graduate from high school in 1938. Attended Indiana State University, and graduated in medicine in 1941. Served in the army, and now located in Indianapolis. Three sons of Jacob Shutt are accredited with the study of medicine. Andrew Jackson Shutt, born in 1843, attended the Spencerville schools and later the Eclectic Medical Institute at Cincinnati, but we find no record of his graduating. Like many men of his day he practiced medicine for a short time at Harlan. Owing to eye trouble he moved to a farm in Jackson township and later ran a medical route, dispensing home remedies and medicine of his own manufacture. He died in 1907. Dr. John Shutt was born in 1850, graduated from the Eclectic Medial institute of Cincinnati in 1889 . He located in Harlan, edited the Maysville Breeze a few years, moved to Fort Wayne, practiced medicine and died in 1921. Dr. Louis S. Shutt, born in 1860, east of town. Attended the Spencerville grade school, Valparaiso Normal and studied medicine at the Eclectic Medical Institute of Cincinnati, graduated in medicine in 1889. Practiced with his brother, Dr. John Shutt and later moved to St. Louis, Mo. He died in 1919. Dr. Ralph M. Beams, born in Spencerville, son of Frank and Maud Currie-Beams, graduated from high school in 1929. Attended Indiana State University, graduated in pre-medical course with an A. B., studied medicine and graduated from Indiana State University in medicine, in 1936. Served four and one-half years in the army, located at Fairmount. Came to Fort Wayne in 1947. Specializes in diseases of the eye. VETERINARIANS—Dr. Frank Silberg, was born in Spencerville, in 1886, graduated from high school and attended the Chicago School of Veterinary medicine. Graduated in 1912. Practiced at Spencerville, after a few years became engaged in various businesses. Built a large garage, opened the first Ford agency and moved to Butler. Health failed him and he returned to Spencerville and promoted a fox farm. Business a failure. Died n 1944. Married Florence Miller, one child. Dr. Clyde R. Baumgartner, born in Bluffton, graduated from high school in 1909. Attended the Chicago School of Veterinary Medicine, graduated in 1912. Practiced at Arcola, served in World War I, came to Spencerville, and formed a partnership with Dr. Silberg. Silberg moving to Butler, he conducted his practice alone. Married Mrs. Pauline Jordan, daughter of Merritt Barney and Bell Turrifen-Barney. MINISTERS---As for ministers, we did not fare so well. Our first licensed minister was Alexander DeVilbiss, while living on his farm and having had much experience as an exhorter, as they were then called, he was licensed by the United Brethren church to preach to the gospel in 1858. There is no record of his being assigned to any special locality but he undoubtedly held service whenever he was called, this meant much hardship and in January of 1861, he contracted typhoid pneumonia and died. Louie Davis was another Spencerville boy, who became a minister. Attended the Methodist church, had training as an exhorter and was licensed to preach by the United Brethren. Served several pastorates and died early in life. Peter Walters, also a Spencerville boy, attended the Harlan school, studied a course of instruction as put out by the Methodist church, attended the Methodist College and was licensed to preach. Served pastorates and concluded the Methodists didn’t pay enough for a family man and went to work in a factory. Married Ethel Provines and reared eight children. LAWYERS---Mr. R. J. Dawson first studied law in Dearborn County, Indiana, where he grew to manhood with Hon. George H. Dunn. Needing a larger income he took up surveying at the same time and in 1832 came to Fort Wayne and acted as clerk for this brother-in-law, Col. John Spencer, who was collector of moneys from the sales of public lands of the U. S. Government. Later he was appointed surveyor of public lands. This gave him an opportunity to buy up desirable lands for speculation. Among these was the large farm on the St. Joe River, bought of Thomas L. Yates in 1836, and set off 30 acres which he developed as a mill site in the village, known as Spencerville. By 1841 he investments demanded so much attention that he moved to Spencerville, and in 1845 married Miss Minerva Catlin, daughter of Bushrood Catlin. During this time he had again taken up the study of law and was admitted to the bar in 1838. Held his first court trial in Bluffton and appointed judge in 1840. Held court in Allen, DeKalb and Steuben counties and presided over the famous outlaw trial in 1858 and ’59. A band of desperate men had organized as horse thieves and robbers. Their operations became so bold and when opposed vended vengeance by burning buildings and physical torture. This led to the organization of the regulators for protection. One man, McDougle, had been hanged, and others were in prison. The outlaws had money and secured skilled lawyers for defense. Over this trial Judge Dawson presided. He attended court on horseback and riding through inclement weather, which with the mental strain, led to his sickness and early death at 48 in 1859. These men were adept in their profession and the story is told of a prominent man in the north part of the county who had lost a favorite horse, going into the section where it was rumored they operated to see if the could find it, pretending he was seeking to buy a horse. He was referred
to a man who was said to knew horses. And they drove around for three days looking for a horse. Later after he returned home he learned he had been riding with the horse thief himself, and behind, his own horse so well disguised he never recognized it. And his horse thief, a local preacher. William H. Dills, son of Jacob Dills, came to Indiana with his parents in 1840. Attended public school, studied in a private school at Fort Wayne and read law with his uncle, Ruben J. Dawson. Attended the Indiana State Law School and graduated in 1856. Located in Auburn, enjoyed many appointive and elective offices, the first man in the county to vote direct for a President (James Buchanan) and organizer of the DeKalb County Pioneer Associate. Died in 1911. Spencer Dills, born in 1839, attended public school. Taught school. Studied for a surveyor. Count surveyor in 1864. Supt. of public schools, studied law with his brother, William. Admitted to the bar, moved to Toledo and died in 1872. Charles E. Emanuel, son of Dr. Jonas Emanuel, born in Ohio in 1841, came with his father in 1842. Attended public schools, Newville Academy and read law with James E. Rose. Admitted to the bar in 1882, practiced in Auburn, and died in1908. Cicero Emanuel, also a son of Dr. Emanuel, attended the public schools, Newville Academy and read law with is brother, Charles. Admitted to the bar in 1887. Practiced in Spencerville and died in 1935. Frank Kimes, son of George Kimes, born at Spencerville, attended school, Valparaiso University and graduated in law from Indiana State Law School in 1900, moved to and lives in Oklahoma. Samuel Wearley, son of Clint Wearley, attended school, Valparaiso University, served in World War I, read law and was admitted to the bar in 1921. Appointed superintendent of the C. C. Camp and later moved to Park Rapids, Minnesota, where he now lives. Ellsworth Sanders, son of Wilson Sanders, attended school. Moved with his parents to St. Joe, studied telegraphy, was in World War I, developed a flair for traveling, visiting the orient, studied law and practiced in the state of Washington, Oregon, retired and lived in Montrose, California. Two sons of Ruben J. Dawson studied law but left Spencerville with their mother when she moved to Fort Wayne in the sixties. C. M. and John. (C. Morton) George Bittinger had three sons who studied law, lived for a short time in Spencerville; Jacob, Adam and George. All lived and practiced in Fort Wayne. Richard L. Shook, son of Dr. B. O. Shook was born in Spencerville, graduated from high school, attended University of Michigan, graduated with an A. B. in 1835. Studied law, graduated in law from Michigan State University at Ann Arbor in 1938. Located in Cincinnati after three years attended Pittsburgh University, specialized in tax laws, was associated with Frost & Jacobs, U. S. attorneys for tax revenue and was transferred to Washington, where he is now engaged in government service in the Internal Revenue Department. Lives in Washington, D. C. Not all our boys were lawyers or doctors. Murray Erick, son of William Erick, graduated from the three year and later from the four year high school in 1911. Attended Purdue University, graduated for the state university in electrical engineering in 1915. Held offices in Fort Wayne, Chicago and went to Los Angeles, organized the firm of Murphy & Erick, and specializes in office building and at present is engaged on a 40-story building. Lives in Los Angeles. Robert Beams, born in Spencerville, graduated from high school, attended Valparaiso University specialized in business administration. Opened an Overland agency in Spencerville, moved to Fort Wayne and went into real estate. One son, Glen, born in Spencerville, practices law. John was born in Fort Wanye and is a preacher at Evansville. Ort Wearley, son of Greely Wearley, graduated from high school in 1910, attended Wittenberg College, specialized in business administration and athletics, graduated with an A. B. in 1914. Taught school, coached basketball and entered the automobile game. Was in business in Indiana and Michigan. Took over the Packard agency and located in Toledo, Ohio, where he is now engaged in several business enterprises. Married and has three children. Henry Shook, son of Dr. B. O. Shook, graduated from high school in 1924, attended University of Illinois, and graduated in business administration in 1930. At present, he lives in Auburn, married and has three children. Conducts an automobile accessory business. Cecil Hollopeter, son of Lee Hollopeter, graduated from high school, attended Wittenberg College, changed to University of Illinois and graduated in 1925. Majored in athletics. Teaching at Dayton for ten years. Entered the Air Cops as a professional flyer, retired and now interested in a manufacturing business. Married and has one boy. John Provines attended Spencerville school, clerked in his father’s drug store, attended Purdue University and graduated in pharmacy. Married and now lives in Frankfort. Pete Steward, son of Fred Steward, graduated from high school, attended Wittenberg College, graduated in business administration and entered the insurance business in Cleveland, and lately transferred to New York. It’s no more than proper to mention the name of Mr. S. S. Shutt, reared from the age of two years in the town. By hard work and successful business ventures he built up a reputation for honesty and integrity that he was sent to the state legislature for several terms and nominated for congress. In early life, he attended college in Iowa, returning home, taught school, and in 1859 went to California to seek his fortune in the gold mines. Meeting with success, he returned after three years for a short time and again entered the mining industry returning a rich man. In later years he busied himself looking after his varied interest, among which was the organizing the White National Bank at Fort Wayne, where he served as one of the directors up to the time of his death in 1904. Spencerville being settled by men from the east principally, no doubt had many who had seen service in their home state. This was true especially of the men who had served in the Revolutionary and later the French and Indian War of 1812. At this time there was no money to pay the discharged and oft times disabled soldiers, so the government set aside the Western Reserved as an opportunity for cheap land. This was soon exhausted and the settler pushed on and many landed in northern Indiana. Almost any man born by 1790 served in the War of 1812. Of the Revolutionary period we know of no one buried here who had seen service. In the War of 1812 we have the following: Thomas Howey, private-corporal with the Pennsylvania militia, 1812-1813. Caleb Case, private 71st Regiment, New York Militia, 1813. Buried in New York state, served three enlistments. John Rhodes, private, Sunderland, Pennsylvania, Volunteers, 1814-15, two enlistments. Hector Blake, private, 2nd Regiment, New York Militia, 1814. David Rhodes, private in Thomas Collemers Co., New York Militia, 1814. The record also shows that George Horn, Fredrick Shaffer, Robert Johnson, Nicholas Jones, Paul Robertson and Samuel Henderson, all eligible and are buried in the Spencerville cemetery. The investigation up to the great granddaughters who want to join the D. A. R. All of whom can be traced through the D. A. R. library in the Fort Wayne public library and by writing the adjutant general of U. S. Army, Washington, D. C. There are several more buried here who probably served and whose records should be investigated. There is a rumor that our cemetery holds a Revolutionary soldier. If so, he lies with his grave unmarked as do many of the Civil War time. This is unnecessary as at this time the government will furnish markers for its soldier dead, when applied for. Already in the fifties the question of slaves and the right to own them was becoming a serious question. Those owning slaves in the South, were losing heir slaves by their running away, escaping to the North, when they were generally helped to escape by a system know as the underground railway. Th South became so aggravated by it, that they threatened to secede if it was not stopped. They hired professional slave catchers to find and return the slaves and made it a very profitable business for those concerned. The controversy led to the 11 southern states seceding and they called themselves the Confederate States of America. The election of Abraham Lincoln as President led to the north taking the view that these states had no right to secede and led to war, the most talked of item being the freedom of the slaves. Patriotism ran high and public meetings were held in the home, school, houses, churches and public corners. And when President Lincoln called for volunteers the response was unanimous in DeKalb county. The first meeting for recruiting in the county was held at Spencerville. George Barney, presided and John Coburn, secretary. Three men were chosen to draw up resolutions, which read as follows. We the citizens of DeKalb county, distinctly repudiate the right of secession as claimed by a portion of the states and that our federal government is a government of all the people and not a mere federation of states, and that the government is a fully ample and competent as the several states and that a state can no more secede from the federal, than a county can secede for the state. After the playing of Yankee Doodle a rousing patriotic address was given by Robert Johnson. Marquois Rhodes, who had just left his store, dissolved his partnership with William Tendall and moved to Auburn, where he assisted in recruiting the first company for war. As the war went on and more troops called and more funds solicited DeKalb always met her share. The townships of Newville, Stafford and Concord led. The following men are known to have served in the Civil War and enlisting from Spencerville:
John Beams, George Beams, Irvin Butler, Lucius Barney, John Barney, George A. Bishop, Florene Buchanan, John Carnes, Sam Cole, Benj. Chellis, James Dragoo, Allen DeVilbis, John DeVilbis, William Davis, John Davis, Alex Dailey, Rev. Enos Erick, Lewis Fisher, Leslie Fisher, Charles Friece, Lemanuel Farver, Isaac Farver, Jno Furlo, Sam George, James Gibford, Benj. Hamilton, Sam Harnish, Fredrick High, John Hobaugh, Amos Hill, Milt Horn, Israel Horn, John M. Horn, Benj. Hush, Charles Hoffman, Enn Hannan, Thomas Johnson, Robert Johnson, Nicholas Jones, Thomas Kirst, Phill Kennedy, Martin Keesler, George Kiester, Theo. Kline, Baltzer Koontz, Sam Kelley, J. D. Leighty, John Leighty, George Lake, Joe Murrey, John McNabb, Henry Markle, David Miller, Josh Nichols, Isaac Oberholtzer, Jno A. Provines George Poince, William Pervines, Marquis Rhodes, Charles A. Rhodes, Elijah Rhodes, William Reed, O. W. Rummell, James Steward, John M. Steward, James L. Steward, Isaish Smith, John M. Scott, Henry Scott, George Samuel, Jeremiah Ulm, Milo VanZile, Edward White, Calvin Wearley, William Watson, Hiram Zimmerman, Jonas Zimmerman, John A. Zimmerman. All buried in Spencerville cemetery except: Jno. A. Provines, Auburn, and at St. Joe cemetery: Florence Buchanan, John Davis, Benj. Hamilton, Jacob Leighty, William Pervines, Jeremiah Ulm, Edd White, George Wade. And there are several unmarked graves. Most of these men enlisted at Spencerville. Thirty-four years we were again in war. The island of Cuba having suffered by the tyranny of Spain, revolted and started a revolution in 1895 and lost nearly half of their population and called for help. Uncle Sam sent the battle ship Maine, which was blown up in harbor and war was declared in April, 1898. The President ordered the National Guard into service, and recruited the needed soldiers for the infantry and two artillery squads. Indiana’s Co. K of the 3rd Indiana volunteers was organized at Auburn, with 50 men and saw some service. The only men from Concord township were William O. Leighty of St. Joe and Frank Kimes, of Spencerville. The war was of short duration and the men mustered out in 1898. World War I is of such recent date that most of the readers will have had some share in the fighting and some sorrows. As to the cause of the war, it is generally understood the German Kaiser’s determination to conquer the world. Of course there were many other reasons, such as commercial and industrial rivalry. Revenge from former conflicts, personal ambitions and others given in history of northeastern Indiana. Three years after the war started we were in the submarine warfare on our vessels culminating in the destruction of the Lusitania and continued acts of that type led Congress to declare war in 1917. The following men served in World War I.
Baker, Eugene Houghton, Roscoe Ridenour, Russel
Baumgartner, C. R. Kain, Forest Shutt. Stanley
Berry, Howard Kraft, Harold Shutt, John
Bice, Ralph Kressley, Ralph Smith, Carlyle
Bough, Sam Lindstrom, Walfred Smith, Isaiah
Crall, Fred Mann, Hanley Smith, Orval
Crall, Lee Mann, LeRoy Steinborn, Fred
Dove, William Mann, Blaine Stewart, Fred Sr.
Davis, Russel McKinley, Delta Tyndall, Marquis
Erick, Beeks McKinley, Wm. M. Walters, Henry
Flotz, Walter Palmer, George Wasson, Paul
Furnish, Charles C. Pervines, Howard Wasson, Alfred
Gratz, Russel Pervines, Lewis Watt, Carl
Hart, George B. Place, Mervin Webb, Dayton
Headley, Owen Place, Alva Webb, Herbert
Hollopeter, Cecil Ridenour, Dan Welsh, Ivan
This was war on a big scale. No such organization for preparation had ever been carried out and seemed to have come over night. Every city, village, and farm having a part and all working together harmoniously to win the war. Some twenty years and we are again at war, following the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor. Owing to our previous experience in World War I, we were soon organized and carried the war home to them, rendering such destruction to men and property that they were glad to surrender, following the firing of the bomb. A new element in warfare so destructive that even the defender hesitates to use it, and a warning as to what other countries can expect if they get too meddlesome. Those serving from Spencerville in World War II are as follows.
Allen, William Kimes. Bernard
Allen, Merton Kimes, Richard
Akey, Wilber Loux, Maurice
Butler, James Loux, Virgil
Beams, Ralph Laub, Roy
Bice, Ralph Laub, Loren
Bice, Paul Markle, Max
Blondel, George Moore, Paul
Brouse, Wayne Moore, Ted
Burns, Robert Moore, Glen
Erick, Wm. D. Moore, Carlton
Fisher, Lynn Osborn, Richard
Fraim, Walter Reckenwald, Warren
Furnish, Lavon Shilling, Richard
Furnish, Virgil Steeman, John
Furnish, Merle D. Steeman, Homer
Gilmore, Karl Steward, Fred, Jr.
Hart, Robert Shook, Wayne
Howe, Ralph Shockley, Hershel
Haupt. Lon Tyndall, Marquis
Hook, Edd Webb, Louis
Holabaugh, Robert Washler, Richard
Hensley, Ray Wasson, Dean
Jones, Winnifred (WAC) Zimmerman, Dallas.
With the memories of two world wars it will be best to stop and consider how far we have gone and what we have accomplished and how best to live in peace while properly guarding our liberty and defending ourselves from the enemy from within as well as from without. Dwelling thoughtfully and prayerfully on George Washington’s advice: "Beware of Foreign Alliances." BIOGRAHICAL DATA---First date of birth—B. If coming to Indiana before 1850—Ind., date. M—married and date if known. Children—No. C. names. Girls named and referred to by married names. Death of father and mother.
Ables, Zona Horn-–m, Ross Ables—Zona d, 1950—Ables 1938.
Allen, Emma T.—m, Dave Allen—b, 1820—d, 1884—2—Frankie and William—2nd m, Jason Keys—J. K., d, 1930—E.A.K., d, 1939—Frankie m, Rev. Will Singer---3---lived in Ohio.
Bair, Rudolph—b, 1820—n, Catherine—d, 1849—2—Barbara Obeholtzer and Amanda Wilson—2nd wife, Jane—2—Maggie Metcalf and Etta Elson—3rd wife, Louisa Hall.
Bair, Samuel—b, 1827—m, Mary McReader—6—Lem, Dan, Johnathan, Alva, Nettie, see Horn, Mattie.
Baker, Porter—b, 1862,--m, Anna—8—Grace, Floe, Ethel, Fay, Julia, Letha, Ralph and Gene—P.B., d, 1914—w, 1929.
Blatz, Jacob, Sr.—b, 1816—American, 1824—m, Barbara Helfrick—10—all born in Pennsylvania and Ohio—Tilly Culbertson—Spencerville Scholl—Mrs. B., d, 1878—end wife—Mrs. Ellen O. Carey—J.B., d, 1890—wife, 1909.
Baltz, J. F.—m, Emma Sechler—4—Mary, see Mourer—Jennie, see Moffett—Jessie, see Sommers—Frank, b, 1881—m, Josie Maggert—2—Albert, drowned—Erma, m, Roger Stebing.
Baltz, John—b, 1821—U.S., 1824—1stm—Pa.—2—2nd m O—Elizabeth Schleper—6.
George—m, Ida Boots—2—Fred and Edith—G.B., d, 1927—wife, d, California.
John—m Laura Murray—3—Anna, Thomas and Pauline—J.B., d, 1929—wife, 1942.
William—m, Lizzie Engle—5—Gladys, Carrie, Frankie, Grace, Fred born in St. Joe.
Lizzie and Anna, died tuberclosis.
Barney, George—b, 1815—Ind., 1838—m, Jane Bratton, 1840—6—Solomon,
Franklin, Lucius, Mary, John, Mark.
Lucius—b,1841—n, May—1—Dr. Lu Barney lived in Colorado—Lucius, Captain in Civil War—d, 1869—wife 1888.
Solomon—b, 1844—m, Cordelia Gibford, 1870—2—George Merritt and Violet—George—b, 1871—m, Dell Turrittin in 1897—1—Pauline Bumgartner—Violet—b, 1877—m, Rev. Johnson of Tiffin, O.—3.
John—b, 1842—m—moved to Ohio.
Barney, Frank—b, 1852—m, Ida—2—moved west.
Mary C.—b, 1848—m., Sailor—died.
Marquis—b, 1858—m—moved to Ohio.
Sol and Frank moved to St. Joe in 1883-84.
Baumgartner, Clyde—b. 1893—m, Mrs. Pauline Jordan, see professions.
Beam, David—b, 1824—m, Amanda Kimes—7—Amanda, Rilla, Archie,
Harve, Effie, Vennett and Mina—D. B. d, 1898—w, 1911.
Beams, Frank—m, Maude Curie—4—Henry, Florence, Doris and Ralph.
Henry—m, Phyllis Gree—4—Montpelier, O.
Florence—m, William L. Peck, attorney—3—Anderson, Ind.
Doris—m, Rev. Rudder—2—Arcadia, Calif.
Ralph, Physician—m, Ruth Loveless—3—Fort Wayne, Ind.
Beams, George—m, Myrtle Haifely—3—Forest, Garnet and Howard.
Forest—m, Mable Rhodes—2—Hicksville, O.
Garnet—m, Dale Edwards—1—Arcadia. Calif.
Howard—m, Lucille Miller—3—Fremont, Ind.
Mrs. Garnet Beams d, 1919
George Beams—m, Mrs. Lucy Duvall
Henry Beams—d, 1922—Rebecca Beams, 1932.
Beams, Henry W.—b, 1846—m, Anna E. George—1- Madia—b, 1877—m, Dr. Nelson Lake—1—Mrs. Anna Beams d, 1877—Mrs. Madia Lake, 1904, Henry Beams—m, Rebecca Johnson—2—Frank and George.
Beams, John W.—b, 1843—m. Alice Rhodes—3—Edd, Jack and Nettie B.,d, 1882—2—2nd wife, Fannie Miller—1—Robert.
John B.—soldier Civil war—d, 1914—wife, 1942.
Edward U.—b, 1866—m, rose Wise—d, 1915—wife, lives in Garrett.
Jackson M.—b, 1869—m, Hattie Shutt—1—Dr. A. J. Beams—b, 1891—m, Mildred Kendall—lives in Cleveland—see physicians—J. M., d, 1940—w. 1940.
Robert, G.—b, 1888—m, Berdene James—2—Glen and John—glen born in Spencerville—m, Plecher—2—see lawyers—John born in Fort Wayne—minister in Evangelical church in Evansville.
Beninghoff, Hattie—S.H.S. class 19__--m, Oscar Ditmer—1—Joy—
lived with her grandmother Shutt.
Beninghoff, John—b, 1859—m, Rebecca Lake—2—Will and John –J. B., d,
Bishop, Peter—b, 1823—Ind., 1947-=-m, Eliza Rudisill—7—Alvin—b,
1945, m, Mary Silberg—2—George and Mary Beidler—wife, d, 1891—m, Lilly Silberg—3—L. S., d, 1902—Peter B., d, 1901—wife d, 1915.
Bishop, Melvin—b, 1859—m, Sarah Ayers—4—Frank and Retta, see
Hathaway, b, in Spencerville—Catherine and Charles b, in St. Joe—M. B., d, 1927—wife d, 1927.
Bishop, William—b, 1852—m, Ada Shaffer—moved to Michigan—1888—W.
B., d, 1918.
Bishop, Minnie—b, 1855, see Keagy—2—George and Charlie—Z.K., d, ____wife, 1947.
Bishop, Edwin—b, 1864—m, Lizzie Shaffer—3—John Cozetta and
Ronald—E.B., d, 1936—wife d, 1917.
John—b, 1865—m, Nellie Olds—2—Florence and Mrs. Paul Collins—J. B. d, 1926.
Bittinger, George—b, 1810—m, Mrs. Jacob Rudsill—5—all born in Pennsylvania—reared in Ind., Jacob—Adam—George—twins—Mary, see Zimmerman—Barbara, see Wilson—G.B., d, 1881—wife d, 1889.
Bowman, Solomon A.—b, 1818—m, Rebecca Jones—Ind., 1853—3—Date E., see Rhoades—Hiram and Marion.
Hiram W.—b, 1849—m, Mary Leighty—2—Frank and Ray—Frank had drug store in Spencerville—m, Esther Baker, lives in St. Joe—Eloese—Ray, bachelor, lives at home.
Marion—b, 1858—m, Harriet Schweitzer—lived in Chicago—d, 1923.
Bowman, Peter—came to Spencerville in 1848—ran sawmill—died in 1878.
Bowman, John—b, (1868?)—m, Amanda Carnes—2—John Jr. and Laticia.
John, Jr.,--b, 1868—m Nettie Beams—moved to Michigan.
Laticia, see White.
Bowser, Raymond—b, 1878—m, Ethel Badick—4—Roy, Cleo, Gale and Ada.
Brown, Calvin—m, Maud Brown—4—Jay, Kenneth, Bertha, Bernice—M.B., d, 1918.
Butler, David—b, 1805—Ind.,1833—m, Elizabeth Yates—8—Ellen—Irvin—Andrew—Amos—Christine—David—Daniel—Minerva—D.B., d, 1844—wife d, 1877.
Ellen—m, Fredrick row—Irvin, died in service, Civil War—Andrew, Amos, Christine—live in the West.
Daniel—b, 1842—m, Sarah Jane Boots—3—Frank—Audrey—Merritt—D.B. d, 1901—w, 1937.
Franklin—b, 1872—m, Daisy B. Hemrick—F., d, 1838—wife, 1934.
Merritt A.—b, 1875—m, Annis D. Wareup—4—Charles—m, Georgia Daun—3—Auber—m, Ruth Miller—2 Ivan—m, Emma Beal—2—James—m, Catherine Duwan—Audrey E., see Wade.
David—b, 1842—m, Sarah J. Keys—2—Princess, see Rectenwald—Francis see Chapman.
Carey, Mr. Ellen O.—widow of William Carey—1—Willis W.–b, 1869—m, Gertrude Shutt—1—George Fletcher—Mrs. E. O. Carey m, Jacob Blatz, Sr., 1879—Mrs. Carey, d, 1909—J.B., 1890—Gertrude S., d, 1944.
Carnes, John—b, 1820—Ind., 1849—m, Rebecca Bair—6—Amanda, see Bowman—Josephine, see Fisher
Henry—b, 1851—m, Ella Miller—4—Josie—Edward—Homer—Ruth.
John—b, 1854—m, Martha Roller—2—Ritz—Ralph
Mary—b, 1856—m, George Paff—1—Gladys—Gladys see Houck—J.C., d, 1861—soldier—w, 1888.
Case, Caleb—b, 1814—Ind., 1844—m, Sophie Camp—5—C.C., d, 1864—wife, 1888—Dexter—Lydia—Emilus—Mary—Martha.
Emillus—b, 1837—bachelor—d, 1924.
Mary—m, William Hollabough—7—Lydia, spinster—Martha—m, William Dilley—Eva—m, Edd Pleumer—7.
Catlin, Bushrood—b, 1799—m, Mary—3—Minerva Dawson—Rosy Ann Morris—Romeo—B. C. said to serve in Navy—War of 1812—Minerva, see Dawson—Rosy Ann, see Morris.
Romeo—b, 1826—Ind., 1842—m, Mary A.—3—Clara E.—Louisa McKinley—Mary Fusselman—B.C. d, 1860—Romeo—1862.
Chaney, George—b, 1816—Ind., 1852—m, Ruth Jones—3—Reason, Milton and Phillip—g. C., d, 1902—wife d, 1906.
Reason—b, 1843—m, Nancy Scott—0—, R.C., d, 1910—w, 1951.
Milton—b, 1854—m, Jennie Scott—0—M. C. d, 1927—w, 1947.
Phillip—b, 1865—m, Clara Houck—1—Roy—P.C., d, 1927—wife d, 1939.
Roy, son of Phillip—b, _?__, m, Zetta McNabb—4—Phyllis, Euala, Einor and Roy, Jr.
Chapman, Ebb—b, 1864—m, Renna Markle—10—Lee, Charles, Millus, Jay, Bill, Mary, Mildred, Gladys, Maud, Myrtle—Edd d, 1948.
Charles—m, Francis Butler—4—Isabel Fold—3—Josephine Crowl—2—Rachel Cook—1—Richard m, Madeline VanZile—3—David.
Chellis, John—b, 1785—Ind., 1844—m. Asentha True—3—Mary Lake—Hattie Metzger—Benj.—J. C., d, 1853—wife 1894.
Clemmer, Christian—b, 1814—Ind., 1860—m, Ann Gearhart—3—Caroline see Houck—Ann see Cupp—Sylvester—C.C., d, 1892—w, 1901.
Coder, Samuel—b, 1843—Ind., 1867—m, Elizabeth Griffiths—4—Eli, m, Rebecca Wyatt—1—Priscilla, m, Elias Zimmerman—Frank—Lenna—m, Mort Olds—J.C., d 1896—w, 1893.
Cole, Samuel—b, 1843—m, Sally McNall—soldier—S.C. d, 1920—w, 1926.
Cupp, Gustave—b, 1857—Ind., 1878—m, Ann Clemmer—1—Edward—G.C. d, 1934—w, 1912.
Davis, Martin—b, 1834—m, Susan Fisher—d, 1918--wife, 1910—4.
Sarah—m, G. Cramer and lives in Fort Wayne.
Samantha—m, Henry Walters.
Bert—bachelor—lives in Spencerville.
Dawson, Ruben J.—b, 1811—Ind., 1830—m, Minerva Catlin, 1845—3.
Albert J.—b. 1847—m, Martha Rush—3—died in California.
Charles—b, 1848—m Elizabeth Mayer—see lawyers record—John W. reared in Fort Wayne—died in California—R. J., d, 1859—wife, in California.
DeVilbis, Alexander—b, 1816—Ind., 1843—m, Lydia M. Clogston—7—A. DeVilbis, d, 1861—w, 1889.
Allen—b, 1841—see physicians—d, 1917.
Laurinda—b, 1843—m, Alexander Bowser—1—Allen—1—d, 1915.
John Wesley—b, 1846—lived at Hicksville—d, 1879.
Alexander—b, 1848—lived in Louisiana—d, 1890.
William Fletcher—b, 1851—farmer—d, 1913.
Alton Lovejoy—b, 1855—dentist—d, 1950
Thomas Dills—b, 1860—see physicians.
Dilley, Elijah—b, 1824—Ind., 1855, m. Elizabeth Griffith—8—Mary—Vincent, m, Sarah Maurer—Margaret, m, Allen DeVilbis—Emily—Malinda—William H., m, Martha Case—George W., b, 1862, bachelor, d. 1883—Ella, m, Frank Horn—1- Venice—E.D. d, 1913—1st wife, d, 1872—2nd wife, d, 1896.
Dills, Jacob—b, 1820—Ind., 1844—m, Christena Dawson—4—J.W. Dillis—b, 1832—m, Mary E. Olds—1—Harriet—Hart—2—J. W., d, 1911—wife d, 1948.
Wm. H.—b, 1934—m, Emily A. Ralston—see lawyers record—d, 1891.
Thomas J.—b, 1847—m, Lizzie Appleton—2—Clara—Margaret—d, 1879.
Spencer—b, 1839—m, Maggie Seabright—read law—moved to Toledo—d, 1872.
Dove, John—Spencerville around 1870—m, Mac Namire—3—Henry m, Emma Rhodes—David m, Mary, Jake Grill.
Dwyer, Arlie—m, Mrs. Reasor—1—Forest—Franklin Dwyer.
Edwards, Edward T.—m—see physicians.
Emanuel, Jonas—b, 1818—Ind., 1842—m, 3 times—1st wife, Esther Hawley—3—m, a. C. Taylor—E.T., d, 1926—Esther H., d, 1850.
Charles E.—b, 1851—m, Ida Johnson—2d, 1909.
Appelles—b, 1844—m, Mary Kaufman—2—Clara Kaufman and Julia, prominent druggist in Fort Wayne—A.E. d, 1876.
2nd wife—Laura E. Coburn—4—Hamilton—m, Ida Crouse—3.
Dr. Henry Emanuel—Stamford, Conn.
Dr. Worth Emanuel—Valley City, N. D.—daughter in Milroy, N.D.—Hamilton, d, 1936.
Marcus Cicero—b, 1859—bachelor—lawyer, see lawyers—M.C., d. 1935.
Ella—b. 1861—m, Bruce Bogart—lived in Dakota—died, 1894.
Gerry E.—b, 1861—m, Verda Webster—1—George—Dr. Gerry d, 1931—see physicians.
Erick, Enos—b, 1835—m, Sara Hoffmeyer—5—Granville m, Amanda Baltz—0—d, 1895—wife, 1918.
Beeks—m, Viola Yarnell—3—Gray—Ted—Marjorie—B.E., d, 1915—wife, 1926.
Fairfield, Harrison—m, Lucy Ann Beams—2—William—m, Hattie Hollabaugh—1—Helene—W.D. d., __?_, --wife d, 1950.
Fales, Henry H.—b, 1818—Ind., 1838—m, Rebecca White—8—H. f., d, 1909—wife d, 1894.
Emily—m, Joseph Spitler, see Spitler.
Betsey, A.,--m, William Leighty, see Leighty.
William—m, rose White—2—Guy—Jay.
Eli—m, Maggie Johnson—2—Rosa, see Widefield—Icy, see Kimes—E. F., d, 1929—wife d, 1921.
Orange—Elliot—m, Maggie Malone.
Wallace—m, Ida Wilson—5—Leah Umbinhour—Ada White—Grace Adams—Howard—Henry.
Farver, Isaac—b, 1829—Ind., 1852—m, Mary Meyers, 5—Rebecca—John H.—James H.—Lemanuel—Christena—I. F., d, 1893—wife, 1909.
J. Lemanuel—b, 1829—m, Lucy Bailey—4—3girgs born in Jackson township—Ray, b, in Spencerville.
Ray—b, 1892—m Pearl Armstrong—2—Harry—Earl
Fisher, Louis—m, Josephine Carnes—2—Wall—Bert.
Wallace W.—b, 1874—m, Ella Provines—4—Louis—Miriam Evangeline Fuller—Dorothy, d, 1913—Wall d, 1930—Ella d, 1949.
Bertrum L.—b, 1876—m, Mr. Elsie Sharp—2—Josephine Bohm—Lynn m, Lois Rutherford—2.
Fletcher, Asa—b, 1796—m, Sally Cutts—0—A.F., d, 1882 wife, 1868.
Furnish, Arthur—m. Metta Rhoades—3—Harold—Charles—Merle Dean—Harold, m. lives in Leo—Charles, bachelor—Merl Dean, m, Marion White—1.
Furnish, Ralph—m, Bertha Keesler—4—Ralph, d, 1938—wife, 1949.
Gibford, James—b, 1849—m, Emma Burley—5—Connie—Charles—Roy—Nealie—Zoe—James, d, 1940—wife, 1939.
Gibford, Mr. Charlotte—came to Spencerville with he 4 children in 1878—Isaah—Cordelia Barney—Laurentine Dragoo—James.
Gloyde, George—m, Emily Bowser—4—Clarend, Gladys, Ralph and George Jr.
Goldsmith, Nicholas—b, 1849—m, Bell Houck—4.
John –m, Elizabeth McNabb—1—Merle Dean.
Ala—see Perkiness—Pearl, spinster.
Lloyd—m, End Grub—N.G., d, 1912—wife d, 1937.
Goldsmith, Solomon—m, Rill Farmer—1—Harold.
Haifley, John—b, 1846—m, Martha E. Walters—2—Harry and Myrtle, see Beams.
Hannen, Ean—b, 1854—bachelor—S. A. soldier—d, 1942.
Hart, McClenan—b, 1864—m, Mattie Smith—2—Elizabeth, spinster.
Bessie Klopenstine—1—Franklin McClenan H., d, 1939—wife, 1944.
Hart, Rally Murphey m, Lucius B. Hart—2—Jane Ellen and Louise.
Hays, Valentine—b, 1860—m, Elizabeth Hush—6 girls—Agnes Baker—Leona K. Baurman—Violet Kimes—Clara Bratton—Thersa Smith—Ruth Place—Valentine H., d, 1938—wife, 1945.
Henderson, William—b, 1824—Ind., 1836—m, Matilda Watson—3—Margaret, spinster—Elizabeth, m, Milo Walker—died, 1844—John W.
Henderson, John W.—b, 1851—m. Alice Nusbaum—3—Charles, William and George.
Charles—b, 1873—m, Anna Smith—1—Ruth—Ruth m, Clifford Van Zile, lives in California.
William—b, 1875—m, Faye Baker.
George—b, 1880—m, Maud Culbertson—2—Mary and Esther—Mary m, Walter Beerbower—2—Dick and Sally
Esther m, Dr. D. Graham—1—Patricia—lives in Arizona.
Maud died in 1951.
Henderson, John—m, Adaline Keys—4—Josephine and Mabel, dead—Glenn—m—lives in Woodburn—Kathryn—m, Rev. Lindstorm (Died, 1950)—lives in Florida—J.H., d, 1925—w, 1916.
Henderson, Joseph—b, 1842—m, Matilda Rhodes—3—Mary—Grace.
Heyman, Arthur—m, Nelie Benninghoff—1—Mary Ellen Sauer—Mrs. H., d, 1925.
High, Charles—b, 1841—m, Viola Worden—1—Fred—2nd wife, Mary High—C. H.., d, 1944—wife, 1936.
Charles C. (Fred)—m, Golden Murray—0.
Hollabaugh, George—b, 1845—m, Lizzie Springer—4
William—m, Emma Pence—2—Jessie, Orin.
Frank—m, Nora Carbough—2—Albert—Robert.
Scudder—m, Mary Goldsmith—3—Morris, Marjorie—Max.
Morris—m, Mary Ridgeway—6—Jack—Marjorie—Ted—Thomas—James—Park.
Hollabaugh, Stanley—m, Iva Zehner—1—Marcella—see Sechler. Iva—died, 1920.
Horn, Andrew—b, 1814—Ind., 1848—m, Sidney Pilkinton—6—A. H., d, 1894—wife, 1895—Israel—Milton—Edwin, served in Civil War—Mary Jane, see Lake—Lorena, spinster.
Israel Horn—b, 1845—m, Rachel Wyatt—1—Minta, see Rhodes—I.H., d, 1945—w, 1916.
Horn, Ezra—b, 1850,--m, Lizzie Detrick—0—E.H., d, 1949—wife, 1909.
Darius—b, 1848—m, Mary Jane Shutt—2—Zona, see Ables—Geary, bachelor—Darius, d, 1919—wife, 1918—Geary—1927.
John—b, 1854—m, Nettie Bair—3—John, d, 1938—wife, 1946—Minnie, see Hilgerman—Lelia—m, Louis Rosselot—lives at Columbia City.
Houck, George—b, 1812—Ind., 1853—m, Mary P. Shilling—7—Mary Ann, Hiram, Frances E., Daniel, E. Bell, A. Kathrine and Sara Matilda.
Mary Ann see Shutt—Frances E., see Shutt, E. Bell see Goldsmith—A. Kathrine see Hamilton—Sara Matilda see Zehner—G. H. d, 1892—w, 1896.
Hiram—b, 1841—m, Caroline Clemmer—4—Clara, Allie, Della and Mary—H. H. d, 1915—w, 1902.
Daniel—b, 1847—m, Arilla Kiney—3—Ray, Grace and Lester—Ray, bachelor—Grace, spinster—Lester b, 188, m, Gladys Paff—3—Elinor, Ruth and George—L., d, 1919—D. H., d, 1908—w, 1934.
Hamilton, Benj. M, A. Kathrine Houck—5—Frank, Will, Millie, Mae and Delphia—B.H., D, 1917—w, 1920.
House, Frank—b, 1837—m, Clara Betz—2—John—Eva—Frank, d, 1921—wife 1925.
John—m, Marie Wilmott—1-died—m, Mrs. Gertrude Markle.
Hush, Benj.—m, Desta McKinley—6—Florence—Mabel—John—Beeks—Jason—Albert.
Hush, Lawrence—b, 1885—m. Katie Meyers—0—c, 1939—wife, 1931.
Hush, Harry—b, 1885—m, Andrews—son of Milt and Lizzie Oberholtzer Hush—d, 1950.
Jenkins, George—b, 1825—m. Georgia Silberg—0—d, 1911—wife, 1944.
Jones, Nicholas—b, 1790—Ind., 1852—m, Catherine—d, 1873—wife, 1893—4—Luther—Rebecca see Bowman—Ruth see Chaney—Robert.
Jones, Luther—6—1835—m, Polly Beams—0—L. J., d, 1912—w, 1893.
Kail, Braid—b, 1857—m, Euphrenia Wyatt—5—Clauson—Beatrive—Pauline—Paul—Austin—B.K., d, 1942—w, 1939.
Kagey, Zack—m, Minne Bishop—2—Charles and George—Z.K., d, 1915—w, 1948.
Kelley, Dallas—b, 1863—m, Lena Shutt—5—Clarence—Vernie—Cormie—Lena, See Zimmerman—Nellie m, Walter Carr.
Kennedy, Phillip—m, Nancy Wasson—O—soldier P.K. d, __?__.
Keesler, Martin—b. 1842—soldier—m, Mary Baker—9—Sam—Alvin—Henry—John—Minerva—Louella—Allie—Bertha—Charles—M.K., d, 1915—wife—1917.
Keys, Jason—b, 1863—m. Mrs. Emma Allen—0—d, 1928.
Kimes, George—b, 1812—Ind., 1848—m, Sarah Boyer—12—David—Elizabeth, see Beams—Josiah H.—Jacob C.—Catherine A.—Daniel M.—George—Andrew—Wm. H.—Sara J. –Harve—reared—Ellery Kimes and Cora Barr—grandchildren—G. K., d, 1878—wife d, __?__
Kimes, George, Jr.—m, 1848—M, Rachel Hart—6—Wesley—Frank—Merton—Harve—Minnie, see Moody—Chloe, see Allen.
Wesley—m, Ida Kirst—1—W., d, 1926—wife, 1902.
Harve—m, Icy Fales—2—Walter and Don.
Don—m, Minnie Wilmot—died in 1931—left 3—Robert Rosy Ann—May Walter—m—lives in Leo.
Ellery m, Maggis Meyers—2—Winifred and Charles.
Charles—m, Violet Hayes—Virgil—Catherine—Charles Jr.—Richard—Margaret—Bernard—Blaine.
Kimes, Harve—m. Rachel Hart—2—Plumie—m, Helfrick, Dr. Samuel, see Professions—H. K., d, 1930—wife 1933.
Kinsey, Fredrick—b, 1815—m, Susan Fredrick—Ind., 1862—6.
Mary—m, Wilson Sanders—0—see Sanders.
Carrie—m, Jobe Smith—1—Keith, d, 1936—J.S., d, 1907—wife d, 1948.
Susan—m—moved to Oklahoma.
August—b, 1846—m, Kathryn Byrhodes—5—Charles, George Frank, Roy and Mabel Quinn. Moved to St. Joe, 1884.
2nd wife—Viola Mason—3—Aug. K., d, 1908—wife, 1885—2nd wife, 1916.
Kirst, Thomas—b, 1841—m, Rebecca Badorff—1—d, 189?—wife, 1940.
Lake, Nathan—father of George P., L. Nelson and Curt Lake—m, Jerusha Shelden—Ind. 1835, from Vermont—died, 1853.
Lake, Nelson—b, 1827—m, Margaret Tyndall—10—Nathan, Laten, Caroline, Lewis, George, Rebecca, John and Charles—L.L., d, 1910—wife d, 1916.
Caroline—m, John Lyon—d, 1899.
Nathan—m, Sidney Dragoo—d ?
Laten—m, Francis Shilling—died—m, Addie Widney—died—m, Mr. hart. L.L. died 19__?
George and Frank—bachelors, F. L., d, 1941.
John, see physicians—m, Francis Yarner—J.L., d, _?_
William O.—m, Cene Rhodes—3—William, Marjorie, Ellen—W.O., d, 1946.
Charles—m, Bessie Ables—C.L., d, 19_?_
Lake, George P.—b, 1834—m. Rosetta Rupert—3—Mrs. L. d, 1873—2nd wife—Mrs. Jane Dragoo, see Dragoo—1—Nelson.
Dr. Nelson Lake, see physicians.
Laux, Frank P.—b, 1829—m, Mrs. Lydia Lerch—2—Calvin, William.
Leighty, John—b, 1808—Ind., 1844—m, Elizabeth Sowash—9—Catherine, Alexander, Jacob D., Maria, Susan, John, William, Bennett, Mary E.—J.L. d, 1899—wife, 1889.
Jacob D.—b, 1840—m, Kate Metzger—1—John R. J. D., d, 1912—w, 1924.
William—b, 1841—m Betsy Ann Fales—4—Mack, Edd, William and May—W.L., d, 1947—w, 1945.
Maria see Oberholtzer, Catherine. Susan see Nicholls.
John died in Civil War.
Benjamin—b, 1853—m, Martha Burley—4—Harp, Frank, Fred and Grace—B.L., d.. 1922—w, 1924.
Alexander—b, 1838—m, ??—2—Nora and Dora.
Mary E. see Bowman.
The Leightys moved to St. Joe in 1875.
Lerch, Jacob—m, Lydia—2—Martha and Jennie.
Lucus, William (Bill)—b, 1846—m, Ella Boye—soldier—died, 1932—wife, 1928.
Markle, Frank—b,____--m, Rally Oberholtzer—4—Gaylon, Henry, Dorothy and Max.
Markle, Henry –b, 1839—m Katie Ann Zehner—1—Renna, see Chapman—H., d, 1923—wife, 1925—soldier.
Markle, Jerry—b, 1873—m Katy Ann Wise—3—William, Frank and Delbert—J. M., d, 1949—wife, 1879.
Markle, Samuel—b, 1854—m, Mary E. Billman—3—Lewis, Minnie, Charles—Lewis, m, Daisy Berry—L., d, 1949—Minnie, see Steward—Charles, m, Gertrude Shutt—C., d, 1919. Rodger—Ellen Nash and Harriett.
Mathews, John—1790—m, Priscilla Clayton—8—one of the early settlers.
Maurer, Simon—b, 1862—m, Mary Baltz—0—Mary, d, 1908—2nd wife, died—m, Mrs. Addie Patterson—Simon d, 1948.
Moffett, Euta Jane (Jennie)—m, Raulen Moffett—2—Pauline m, Ray Rhodefer, lives in Auburn—Jessie m, Paul H. Adams, lives in Fort Wayne—Jennie Moffett d, 1938—Raulen d, 1942.
McCrorry, David—b, 1826—m, Sarah Horn—2—William and Oliver—David, d, 1899—wife, 1905.
McCrorry, Oliver—b, 1874—m Rossie Murphy—3—Helen, Geraldine, Hugh P. –Oliver, d, 1904.
McCrorry, Charles—b, 1868—m, Mary Wilson—3—Abby, John Ruth—W. O., m, Addie Steward—3—Kent, Victor and Allah.
McKinley, James—b __?_--m, Jane Coop—4—Frank, Bell, Beeks, Will.
McNabb, Criss—b, 1867—m, Minnie Nichols—Ursle—Criss died, 1931—wife, 1933.
Ursle—m, William Gugerly—0—W. G., d, 1947—wife, 1950.
McNall, William—b, 1867—m, Caroline Zimmerman—2—d, 1893—wife, 1909.
Means, Lorren—b, 1869—m, Bell Haifley—3—Walter, Ray, Stanley—L.M. d, 1929—wife, d, 1943.
Moody, John—b, 1842—m, Mrs. Minerva McCorry—1—John—J.M., d. 1910—wife, 1919.
John (2)—1875—m, Minnie Kimes—4—May Osborn—Violet Haminson—Mary, spinster—James, m, Geneva Abbott.
Moore, William—b, 1969—m, Estella Zehner—0—d, 1930.
Murray, Henry—b, 1839—m, Margaret Langley—2—Mabel, see Erick—Winnie, see Shook—H.M., d, 1923—wife, 1911.
Murray, Thomas—b, 1837—m, Pauline Opdyke—4—Laurie see Baltz—Maude, see Brown—Mary, see Rummell—Golden, see High—T.M., d, 1911—w, 1924.
Murphey, George—b, 1838—m, Nancy Devers—3—see physicians—rally, see Hart—Rossie, see McCrorry—George, bachelor—2nd wife—Florence Knight—3—Dr. M., d, 1909—wife, 1884.
Nichols, Joshua—soldier—m, Susan Leighty—3—Minnie, see McNabb—Blanch, m, Othie Delong—0—died 1912—John—mother died at his birth—1881—reared by John Gunsenhouser—2nd marriage-name no known—J.N., d, 1907—Minnie, d, 1938—Criss, 1931.
Olds, Samuel—b, 1818—n, Caroline Robertson—6—Ger.—Mary, see Dills-Lenna, m, McClaren—Mort, m, Ada Coder—Will m, Bertha Coughnour—d, 1950—Nell, see Bishop—Arthur, m, Wineferd Kline—2 girls, 4 boys.
Overholtzer, Isaiah—b, 1837—soldier m, Mariah Leighty—3.
Ollie—m, George Gillhouser—2—George and May Johns.
Lizzie—m, Newton Hush—1—Harry.
Edith—m, Florence Smith, see Smith—Isaiah d, 1869.
Paff, George—b, 1849—m, Mary Carnes—1—Gladys—see Houck—George, d, 1917—wife 1941.
Pervines, William—b,1845—soldier—m, Mary A. Darling—6—Frank—Etta—Lizzie—George—Pearl—Wineferd—Wm., d, 1919—wife, 1911.
Provines, John—b, 1843—soldier—m, Elizabeth Prosser—5—Minnie, see Tyndall—Claudia, see Shutt—Ella, see Fisher—Ethel, see Walters—John—J. P., d, 1915—wife, 1926.
John—m, Amelia Smalley—0—see professions.
Rectenwald, Clyde—b, 1882—m, Princess Butler—1—Warren.
Reed, William—b, _?_--m, Eva Jane Steward—4—Ida and Vera, at home—James—m, Alda Bowser—1—Verne—m, Mary Tyndall—Verne died 1928.
Rhodes, Daniel—b, 1798—Ind., 1834—m, Louisa McConnell—died 1st year—m, Mary Grabill—8—Minerva Sanders—Amanda Kissinger, Fort Wayne—Matilda Henderson, see Henderson—Alice Beams, see Beams—Daniel—m, Haifley—Sara Patrice, Fort Wayne—Mary, spinster—Milllus—B. 1839—m, Elizabeth Beams—2—Franklyn—Raymond—Franklyn, b, 1869—Amanda Rhodes—1—Merwin—1—m, Verna Jolly—Raymond—b, 1871—m, Minta Horn—3—girls—LaVerne Koch—Helen Nehr and Lucile Fletcher—Minta d, 1943.
Rhodes, John—b, 1796—Ind., 1835—m, Mary ?—no record available, except death from tombstone. We find mentioned a John, William and Jeremiah, probably his sons, John, War of 1812.
Rhodes, Jeremiah—b, 1807—m, Ann Fleming—3—Mary Ellen, see Tyndall—Francis M., See Thomas—Marguois.
Rhodes, Capt. Marquis—b, 1835—m, Sara Harmony—3—sons, Cecil, Leon and Marcus—served in Civil War, died, 1836, in service.
Rhodes, William—b, 1844—m, Betsey Boyle, 1839—owned land in town, no other record found. Mr. Sanders in his family record, said there were 4 brothers, Came from Virginia in 1834-35—no wills, or sales bills found.
Rhodes, William—different branch—b, 1844—m, Margaret___?____--10—W. D., d 1911—wife, 1932—Anna Kugler—Emma Dove, Amanda, see Rhodes—Francis., see Lake—Ella Emrick—Edna, spinster—Inez Miller, Loren Chapie.
Frank—m, Flossie Buchanan—1.
Charles—m, Jennie Freice.
Rhoades, Mathias—b, 1813—m, Celesta Weston—1—son, Charles A.—b, 1843—m, Kate Bowman—d, 1876—1—son, Frank, of Akron.
2nd wife—Caroline Burley—3—Metta, see furnish—Laura, m, Walter Newman—died, 1917—2.
Bernie A.—b, _?__—m, Esta Bozer—3—Joyce, Alice and Gilbert.
Charles A.—soldier Civil War—d--, 1928—wife, 1942.
Rummell, O. W.—b, 1837—m, Nancy C. Boyle—5—Civil War veteran—Lizzie, see Shutt—Louise, see Beams—John, m, in West—William, M. E. minister, see ministers—Hulbert, M.—b. _?_--m, Mary Murray—1890—moved to Oklahoma in 1904—2—Muriel R. Waller –Helen R. Symonds—H. died in1946.
Sanders, Wilson—b, 1848—m, Mary Quinsy—1—Elsworth—Wilson, d, 1925—wife, 1932.
Sanders, Elsworth—see lawyers.
Schockley, Herschel—b—m—6—Betty, Louise, Margaret, Herschel, Robert and Rawl.
Scott. Alfred—b, 1821—m, Rhoda Boyle—6—Ind., 1854—Nancy, see Chaney—Jennie, see Chaney—Bell, see Cope—John, m, Mary Baker—2—William, bachelor--Charles—m, Della Rupert—1—Alfred, d, 1866—wife, 1891.
Scott, John—soldier Civil War—died in service.
Sechler, Wilber—m, Marcelle Hollabaugh—1—Paul.
Shook, Dr. Nelson—b, 1860—m, ??—1—Nevil—see Phys.
Shook, Dr. Benj. O.—b, 1869—m, Wineferd Murray—4—Dr. Hubert—b, 1895—m, Esther Hiner—see Phys.
Donald Langley—b, 1897—m, Ursia Mills—d, 1926—2—Wayne L. and Evelyn Jewel—1—live in S. Carolina.
Henry Murray—b, 1905—m, Jullie Dunean—3.
Richard LaMarr—b, 1913—m, Ruth Doeuch—2—see lawyers.
Dr. Ben died, 1944.
Dr. Wayne LeRoy, Donald’s son—b, 1920—m, Marjorie Craig—1—see physician.
Shutt, Mrs. Nancy Dickerhoff-Shutt—b, 1798—Ind., 1848—8.
John—b, 1817—m, Elizabeth Rhoades—7. Jackson and Lewis attended grad school.
Jacob—b, 1819—m, Christena Bodie—8. Mary J. Horn and Hallie attended the grade school.
Joseph b, 1822—bachelor—d, 1903.
George—b, 1827—m, Mary Ann Houck—6. Lillian m, George Benninghoff—Samuel died at 16—Ella, m, Arthur Hart—2—Hattie m, Jack Beams—George M. m, Claudia Provines—4—Stanley m, Shirley Gourley, soldier—c, 1949—Gertrude m, Charles Markle—3; Rodger, Ellen and Harriett—Ethel m, Dayton Webb—5; Dayton, Maxine, Virginia, Louis and James.
Daniel—b, 1829—7—lived at Harlan—m, B. Etta Cope—Moved to Minnesota.
William—b, 1831—5—m, Francis Houck. Laura d, 1951—Eva m, Dr, Edward Elson—1—Alda Stevens d, 1951—Jane d, 1950—Alda m, James Brentt—d, 1898—Joy m, John Goldsmith—2; Muriel and Margie.
Samuel b, 1833—m, Rebecca Sechler—1—Delphy—8.
Levi—b, 1834—m, Louise Clemmer—2—Nettie—m, Stafford—2—Ida—m, Dallas Kelley, see Kelley—L., d, 1896—wife, 1908.
Silberg, Michael—b, 1817—m, Catherine Shaffer, 1846—6—Warren, Cash, William, Steven, Mary and Lilly—M.S. d, 1877—wife, d, 1904.
Warren b, 1852—m, Mary Jane White—7—Georgie m, George Jenkens—d, 1944—Kathryn m, Frank Steward—3—d, 1948—Frank S. 1951—Lillie m, t. M. Shull—May m, Perry Miller—d, 1903—Frank, m, Florence Miller—1—d, 1944—Vera , spinster—Walter m, Helen Oberland—3—W.S., d_?_—wife d._?_
William b, 1854—bachelor.
Steven b, 1856—m, Lucinda Shutt—died—m, Susie Miller—5—Russel b, 1884—Catherine d, 1917—Evada d, 1919—Cecil d, 1937—Garth—Steve d,_?_ 1913—wife d, 1950.
Cash. B, 1858—m, Lydia J. Parent—7—all born in Nappanee.
Mary b, 1860—m, All Bishop—2—George and Mary Beidler—d, 1904.
Lilly b, 1862—m, All Bishop—3—Bertha, Walter, d, _?_.
Shappaw, Andrew—b, 1823—Ind., 1873—shoemaker—d, 1906—wife, 1887.
Smith, G. W. A.—b, 1818—m, Sarah ___?____--4—Job—m, Carrie Quinsy—1—Keith—Job, d, 1918—wife, 1946—Mary A.—Laura—married names not known—Dr. George, see physicians.
Smith, Mrs. Mary—b _?_widow—7—John-Wm.—m, Ella Walker—Benj.—Samuel—m, Laura Getz—Florence—m, Edith Oberholtzer—3—Carlyle, m—Winnie Wilber—Isaiah and Walter.
Mattie—m, Kell Hart—2—Elizabeth and Bess Flofenstine—Edd—bachelor.
Sommers, Joe—b—m, Caroline Zehneder—2—d—wife buried at Leo.
William—b, 1875—m, Jessie Baltz, 1899—d, 1936.
Mary—b—1873—m, William A. Hawk—2—George and Beulah.
Spitler, Joseph—b,__--m, Emily Fales—soldier Civil War—4—Ida, m, Dan Herrick—Lydia, m,. Theodore Kressley—Oras, bachelor—Rebe, m. Sam Wasson.
Spitler, Oscar—m, Mary Luce—6—Minnie, m, Mose Oberholtzer—Dell, bachelor—Clara, m, Charles Keesler—John, killed—Edd. m, Mr. Ben Smith—Milt, m, Iva Miller.
Wearley, Clinton—b, 1867—m, Minnie Shuller—6—Fern Bevertorden—Zeneth Cuningham—Samuel.—Crystal Towns—Rhea Bolyard and A. Shuler Wearley—Clinton d, 1911.
Wearley, Greely—b, 1865—m. Lizzie Emrick—2—Ort T. b, 1894—m—3.
Leana—b, 1896—m, Fred Steward—1—Fred d, 1918—Leana 1944.
Wearley, Samuel T., b 1816—Ind.,—1852—m, Barbara Dickerhoof—8—Calvin—Maud—Mary E.—William—Lavina—Nancy A.—Greely and Clinton.
Webb, Clinton—b, 1884—m, Grace Blatz—2.
Wilson, Hiram—b, 1832—m, Barbara Bittinger—1853—6—d, 1892—w, 1891.
William—b, 1854—m, --7, George, Charles, Carrie, Hallie, Gladys and Lena.
Wallace—m, Eva Jane Steward—moved west.
Ida—m, Wallace Fales—5, Howard Henry, Grace, Lelah, Ada.
Mary—m, Charles McCrorry—3, John, Ruth and Abbie.
Wise, John—b, 1827—m, Rebecca—4, Ardella Metcalf, Clara Lampman, Rose Beams and Ada Link—J. W., d, 1902—w, 1917.
Wise, George—b, 1827—m, Harriet Snyder—3, Frank, Harriet and Sylvester—G. W., d, 1890—w, 1890.
Frank—b_?_--m, Betsey Burley—2, Orville and Lee born in Spencerville-moved to Auburn—1892.
Harriet—b,_?_--m, Baltzer Koontz—1, Hattie—d, 1893.
Sylvester—b, _?_--m, Nellie Partee—8, Beulah, m, James Value—Hattie, m, Edd Woodring—Frankie, m, Joseph Miser—Ralph and Damon—all born in Spencerville—Near Spencerville, Clarence and Almeta, Leo.
Wrenn, John—b, 1832—m, Mary Zehner—7. Benj., Ruben, martin, Harvey, Henry , ?Ann Houghton, Flora—J. W., d, 1885—w, 1924.
Yates, Thomas Lovel—first settler, cam from Ohio, Settled at Spencerville, left and died elsewhere.
Zehner, David—b, 1823—Ind., 1853—m, Elizabeth Eihinger—2, Katey Ann and Samuel.
Katy Ann, see Markle.
Samuel—1851—m, Sara Matilda Houck—2, Estella and Iva.
Estella, see Moore, Ivy, see Hollabaugh. S. Z. d, 1927—w, 1904.
Zehner, Dan—b_?_--b, Sarah Ann Eihinger—3.
Zimmerman, John 1802—Ind., 1844—m, Mary Padden. Children born in Pennsylvania, Elizabeth , Caroline, Elias, Abe Laten and Jackson; Sara, b. in Ohio, Mary Padden died.
2nd wife—Rebecca Folk—children, Rachel born in O.; Hiram, Sylvester and Benjamin born in Indiana.
3rd wife—Mrs. Nancy Murray—O—J.Z. d, 1875—N.M. Z., 1884. Children living near Spencerville—Caroline McNall, Sarah Watson, Rachel Fisher.
Elias Z—b, 1829—m, Mary Bittinger—5—Frank and George, born at Spencerville; Adda Schlatter, Sylvester and Benj., and John at Leo—M. B. Z., d, 1872.
2nd wife—Priscilla Coder—1—Elizabeth—Cleveland, Ohio.
E.E. died,. 1914—wife, Nancy, 1884.
Abe Laten Z.—b, 1831—m, Rebecca Tyndall—1—William.
2nd wife—Lavina Furd—1, Lizzie and Maggie.
Hiram—b, 1847—bachelor—Washington, D. C.—died at Spencerville, 1871.
Sylvester—b, 1850—m, Alice Bishop—2, Minnie and Lenna. Girls moved to Colo. S. z. d, 1907—wife, 1937.
Benjamin—b, 1852—m, Jennie Shaffer—1, Grace.
2nd wife—Mrs. Mary Hay—B.Z., d, 1912—Mrs. H., 1934.
Zimmerman, Wesley—b, 1854—m, Alice Gibbons—2—Bina and Ray—W.Z., d, 1924—wife, 1935.
Bina m, Graw--Ray m, Lenna Kelley—1—Dallas m, Lousie Shockley—1—Jean.
Index to Pictures
Page No. Picture Sponsor
2 Dr. W.W. Carey, horse Dr. Carey
and buggy days
4 The Old Brick School Old School Reunion
6 Mr. and Mrs. David Butler Merritt Butler and Mrs.
Audrey Butler Wade
13 Old Saw Mill and Dam Murray Rummell and
Golden Murray High
15 Old Covered Bridge Ortt Wearley
17 Grist Mill Mrs., Winne Murray Shook
22 Erick’s Clock Day Murray Erick
24 Beam’s Store Dr. A. J. Beam
28 The Drug Store Elsworth Sanders
31 Jacob Baltz, Jr., Frank Baltz and Mrs. Jessie
the Village Blacksmith Baltz Sommers
43 Asa Fletcher, First Dr. Carey
49 First Methodist Church Mrs. Nellie Olds Bishop,
Arthur Olds, Mrs. Rallie
Murphy Hart, Mrs. Rossie
51 Present Methodist Church Methodist Sunday School
53 First Lutheran Church Ortt Wearley
55 Present Lutheran Church Women’s Bible Class
57 Rev. E. W. Erick Mrs. Sarah Davis Crammer
61 K. of P. Hall and Jack Beams Dr. A. J. Beams
64 Partee Factory Partee Company
70 J. M. Beams Plow Day Dr. A. J. Beams
79 Dr. Jonas Emanuel Friends
85 Dr. Jonas Emanuel Residence Friends
92 Samuel S. Shutt Mrs. Harriett Benninghoff
100 Restaurant and Fisher Market Friends
107 Beams Store Saturday Afternoon Friends
120 The School House School children
Henry W. Beams, Frank Beams,
First In Spencerville
Settler---Thomas Lovel Yates, September 13, 1833.
Birth—Unknown; Death—child of Thomas L. Yates.
Wedding in Concord township—Nelson Ulm and Belvia Lockwood, 1837.
Prayer meeting in John Rhodes’ cabin.
Methodist church organized, 1841.
Lutheran church organized, 1849.
School House—Log cabin back of Wise Blacksmith shop.
School teacher—Asa Fletcher.
Thrashing machine—John Zimmerman.
Fanning mill—Alexander DeVilbis.
Home made wagon—John Leighty.
High wheel bicycle—Wall Fales.
Low wheel—Bert Fisher.
Motor bicycle—Bert Fisher.
Automobile—3 contestants: Bert Fisher, Lou Berry and Jack Beams.
Water power saw mill—Ruben J. Dawson.
Steam saw mill—Peter Bowman.
Corn cracker—William Mathews.
Fraternal Order—I. O. O. F.
Oldest house now standing—William Tyndal now owned by William Foltz, log.
Frame house—Elliott Barney house, built by Dr. Morris now owned by Mrs. Steman.
First Frame—built by Michael Silberg for Bushrood Catlin.
First Brick—built by John Zimmerman.
First blacksmith shop—run by Isaiah Oberholtzer, Stood on corner alley where Ericks store stood. Moved to back of Silberg lot when John Leighty built the store in 1864.
Last but not Least --- The Cemetery
The first settlers probably buried their dead on some favorite home spot, some around the Methodist church, and some on the northeast corner of the George Houck farm. I well remember seeing the monuments. The ground was so wet they bought a plot from Rudolph Bair, St., south of town and across Carnes Run. Rudolph Bair, Jr., first wife, Catherine, was the first to be buried there in 1849. The graves from the church and Houck farm were moved there some few years ago. Andy Sponohour bought land across the road and opened up a new plot. Having no official organization, the town got together, organized and call the cemetery, The White City.