Fountain County INGenWeb Project

Go to content
NOTE: I and many others have spent 20 plus years (from its inception) on this project -- PLEASE GIVE CREDIT if you use our work! I've found hundreds of obituaries FROM THIS SITE on findagrave and many personal genealogy sites - I know the obituaries etc. came from here but I don't see any credit. PLEASE GIVE CREDIT!!!! Here is the citation you should use & thanks so much in advance :)

Citation: The Indiana (INGenWeb Project), Copyright ©1996-2018 (and beyond), Fountain County GenWeb site - thanks soooo much - Karen Bazzani Zach

My name is Karen Bazzani Zach and I am your Coordinator for Fountain County.   My hubby is constantly helping me as well - thanks, Jim Z :) . Your Indiana State Coordinator is Lena Harper. Her assistant state coordinators are: Jim Cox and Karen Bazzani Zach.

School Photos and such!

If you have school photos or records you would like to share, I'm sure everybody would enjoy looking at them. Send them to Karen at -- just FYI -  (Clifton, Thomas.  Past and Present of Fountain & Warren Counties) In 1912 the total # of schools was Cain, 4; Davis 5; Fulton 7; Jackson 6; Logan 4; Millcreek 5; Richland 2; Shawnee 6; Troy 9; Van Buren 4. Teachers were: Cain 12; Davis 4; Fulton 9; Jackson 12; Logan 4; Millcreek 15; Richland 13; Shawnee 8; Troy 8 (which seems pretty strange since there were 9 schools in Troy Township - perhaps 19?); Van Buren 12; Wabash 7; Attica 18; Covington 15; Veedersburg 13. Teachers made $2.92 per day. Oh, my :( Although I had a basic listing, the awesome 2013 History of Fountain County was used to add a few and some info on the ones I already had :) Great book, by the way!

Davis Township: Map of schools locations, Thanks to Jeff Bossaer

Logan Township: Map of schools locations, Thanks to Jeff Bossaer

See "Menu" selections on right hand side for Schools!

COMMISSIONED - NON - Fountain High Schools - 1906

Source: Attica Ledger? Nov 30, 1906

In Fountain County, there are commissioned high schools at Attica, Covington and Veedersburg. There are non-commissioned high schools at Hillsboro, Wallace, Kingman, Mellott, Newtown and Stone Bluff.
All material Copyrighted 2018 by INGenWeb, This site last updated: January 1, 2018
Back to content